27 is all about the chemist

Today I made that once in 3 months trip to the chemist.  (Australians study pharmacy, they don’t “go to the pharmacy.”  Here it’s all about “the chemist.”)  It’s always expensive.  I put off this trip until I’m out of nearly everything.  When my night cream ran out a few days ago, it was the last straw.  Here’s what I wore after work:

Today was the final appearance of the Country Road blue pants.  It’s time to wash them, so they will not be making another appearance.  I needed a cute, yet active outfit for my quick post-work errands and appointment at the chiro.

We live near one of the best pizzeria’s in Perth, and tonight was a lazy takeout night for sure.  Mostly because we’d defrosted steaks, but had nothing good to eat with them.  I feel like a mega fatty since I’m still not doing exercise until my knees recover.  I’m still creaking like the Tin Man up and down stairs, so still no running for me. Sigh.

Since the place (Marco’s) is just down the road, I only need my pink Coach wallet for pizza expeditions.  I love this wallet.  I’ve had it for years, though I didn’t bring it with me to Europe.  It’s the perfect size and it’s elegant, girly without being tacky.

Last year my new years resolution was to take better care of my skin, and since then I’ve become somewhat of a collector when it comes to facial products.  My absolute essentials are the Aveeno cream cleanser and the Clinique eye makeup remover (I have sensitive eyes, and it’s one of the few products that doesn’t sting).  I do endless research online to continually perfect my skin routine.  Moisturizer, face mask, exfoliating scrub, toner (I only use this sparingly) and anything made by Avene are also key to completing my collection.

The addition of a night cream was the biggest change from my pre-2011 rituals.  I’m only 26, but I like to think I can somehow get a jump on the aging process, and night cream is a logical first step.  I like to try different kinds, and I’ve loved both the Sukin organic one (my first night cream) and the Olay Anti-Aging that just ran out this week.  Today I bought my third one.  The brand is ulittlebeauty, which is just adorably Aussie.  I bought the eye balm as well because my old one poked a hole and leaked everywhere.

Just one last little tidbit to share, it’s vintage Herbal Essences!  I love Priceline pharmacies because they carry the largest range of products.  It’s a chemist designed for women, even the membership cards are pink.  I adore cool finds like these; I loved this shampoo back when I was in elementary and middle school.

I don’t remember any of my 2012 resolutions, but I’m so glad that in 2011 I was able to find one that really stuck.  And it’s not just about the face, I’m also the one you can always depend on to provide the sunscreen.  I try to avoid scented lotions because the dyes and perfumes can be harmful.  Even my body wash is just Dove sensitive skin.  Don’t be vain when it comes to skincare, take care of your skin, it’s your greatest protector!

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

3 thoughts on “27 is all about the chemist”

  1. Vintage Herbal Essences still exists?!
    Also, for eye makeup remover QV’s pretty awesome if you want something else to try
    Also also, keep forgetting to say I would steal your wardrobe if I could. I’m in love with all your 30 in 30 pieces
    See you sunday and hope your knees feeling slightly better xx

Leave a comment