New Year, New Goals

Hello 2013!

I know it’s been ages since I last graced the internet with my thoughts and opinions (though perhaps only to the sound of crickets), but now I’m back with a new set of goals and hopefully a better outlook on life.

It’s a big year for Matt and I as we are now ENGAGED!  We have so much to plan and so much to save this year, that I’ve decided my focuses for 2013 are saving heaps and (not-so-surprisingly) devoting myself to fitness.

Exercise is basically my obsession, so that shouldn’t be too hard, but saving is a huge struggle for me.  Matt is trying to help me get started since he is an excellent saver.  I have condensed my two thoughts into easy sentences, which I will be posting to the bathroom mirror:

Sweat Once a Day                  Only If It’s Free

Lululemon, which is one of my favorite companies, encourages people to “sweat once a day” and I am adopting this as my mantra.  Even on recovery days, I will try to go for walks or do yoga or pilates, just to keep up with a new routine of fitness everyday, no excuses.

Only if it’s free applies to time I spend with my friends.  Apart from the occasional event requiring me to dole out a bit of cash, I’m trying to keep my catch-ups to taking walks, going for runs, having tea at home or other general activities where I can spend time with loved ones without breaking the bank.

I encourage others to join me in “Sweat Once a Day” and see how long it takes you to feel better and have more energy in your daily life.  #sweatonceaday for those on Twitter.  Let’s see how this goes…

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

Leave a Reply

