I Enjoy Being a Girl

Driving home tonight after finishing my third Beginner 2 course at my Ashtanga Yoga studio, I was thinking to myself how proud I am of the three boys taking the course.  In my Beginner 1 there were only two men. But these people are all brave enough to try something challenging and well outside their comfort zone.  It got me to thinking about stereotypes and how much it must really stink to be a boy sometimes. I’m guessing most girls out there would never refuse to do something because “it’s too boy-y” or “because that’s boy stuff.”

Inspired, I’ve compiled a small list of all the wonderful reasons I enjoy being a girl.  Sorry fellas!

1. YOGA!

Obviously I had to start with this one. I find it quite strange that an ancient practice founded by men and to this day still widely run by men can be deemed as being “for chicks.”  Sure, there are millions of men out there doing yoga, but the general male population don’t want to waste their time with “a bit of stretching.” One of my good friends once told me he had no patience for it as “it isn’t even exercise.” I don’t think yoga ever pretends to be. It feels amazing both mentally and physically. Other than the 2-3 men in any given class, most dudes are missing out!

2. Reading

Now this one really bugs me. Before you go getting all upset, hear me out. Sure many men out there read.  Many women don’t. But all but one of my friends on Goodreads are female (the only male being my intellectual and bookworm boyfriend).  9/10 of the people who tease me for my book-friendly agenda are men. Not only that, but there are several books men wouldn’t touch with a 10-foot pole because they are “girly.” It is socially acceptable for me to read just about anything. Gotta love that!

3. Hugs

What is so wrong with a long lingering hug between friends? When I haven’t seen a close friend in ages, I would never thrust out my palm for a hearty handshake. Chris Farley said it best: “brothers don’t shake hands, brothers gotta HUG!” Why is it only the sisters taking this advice? And sure guys can hug girls and there’s no awkwardness…most of the time.  But hugs are the best, and we girls get way more of them.

4. Crying

Nothing beats a good hard cry. NOTHING. Men are missing out, this is the best tension/stress release out there. Sometimes something small will set me off and rather than fighting back tears, it spirals into an opportunity to fully sob about everything that’s been bothering me lately. Feels incredible, and when it’s over, though physically and emotionally spent, I am ready to move on.

5. Dance

Women can pretty much dance whenever they want (outside of a professional setting), and it isn’t weird at all. My favorite is throwing on the headphones and jamming out while I clean the house. I even bust a move every now and then while I run. I love to mouth the words along as well.  I’m not sure why men are embarrassed to dance and sing in public.  It’s a real shame because it is SO MUCH FUN!

 

6. Baking

This is quite possibly one of my favorites. Baking is the best!  I love it for so many reasons. But to put it simply, you get to wear pretty aprons, make a big fun mess and eat yummy treats when it’s over. I know that the men of the world have traditionally been “the chefs,” but we women rule at baking (and let’s face it we kick butt at cooking too). We have the required patience to see a project through. Of course this isn’t for everyone, and plenty of girls don’t like to bake.  But I fully embrace this hobby.  I can’t get enough!

I could go on all evening, but I won’t. Perhaps I’ll write a Part 2 another time. I suppose I’m more curious to hear what are your favorite things about being a girl!  (Or boy, we’re open to all perspectives here.) I realize I’ve gone for some pretty serious generalizations, but these are activities that make me really happy, and it’s sad to see some men out there avoiding them because they aren’t “manly” activities. Grab a fancy pink cocktail ladies and toast yourself, because you can!

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

Leave a Reply

