Practice and Party

It’s been a big weekend for Matt and I.  For me it started bright and early Saturday morning.  I went with Thuy to Body Attack.  I’ve got a temporary free pass at her gym and it felt great to do the class again.  I absolutely loved it when I used to belong to Fitness First.

In the evening, we had our best friend Maria’s 21st birthday party.  (It still makes me feel so old when I think that most of my friends are even younger than my sister, Rachel.)  The Treble Clefs (my a cappella group) were performing following the birthday toasts and speeches, so we had a quick last-minute rehearsal in the afternoon.  The party ended up being super fun!  Matt and I both had a great time catching up with people.

Maria looked gorgeous and seemed to be having such an amazing time at her party.  It really set the mood around the place; her energy was infectious!

I was so pleased to be able to catch up with so many friends last night!  I felt a little bit guilty because I knew more than half the guests, so every time I started a conversation I was soon running off to say hello to someone else.  The wonderful thing about the evening was that I got to have really great conversations with everyone I saw.  It wasn’t a night for idle chit-chat; I felt like I was getting in so many genuine catch-ups.  Matt and I both really enjoyed ourselves.

The Treble Clefs sang three songs last night: My Boyfriend’s Back by The Angels, All Night Long by Lionel Ritchie (I was the soloist for this song) and Paradise by the Dashboard Light by Meatloaf.  Maria really brought down the house with the last song, she’s got so much talent!

Matt and I have thankfully gotten to see more of our friend Tahlia lately.  She is a close friend of Matt’s and was my first friend upon arrival back in 2010.  We had an impromptu couples evening on Friday that ended in the best way possible: milkshakes and waffles.

Today (Sunday) was much less stressful than usual.  I had a bye week for soccer, so I was able to do lots of baking this morning.I had to go to a specialty lolly shop to find these.  They cost $5.95 for 10! Can’t wait to stock up when I go home at Christmas.  So pricey over here…

I used my old school egg beater to mix up these tasty treats so I wouldn’t wake Matt.  I’m always up at 7 even on weekends, so basically I’m bored waiting for him to wake up, or (more often) I’m off for a morning workout.

They turned out so delicious!  I made them for a tea we had today at Annabeth’s.  Tahlia and I ended up stuck in crazy traffic with my gas light on, so we were an hour late!  I’m never late, I was freaking out a little.  The universe was against us.  It was only us and Erin, but the four of us had a lovely time and quite epic conversations.  All in all I’ve had a really fantastic weekend.

The only other thing of note at the moment is that I’ve taken on a yoga practice.  I’ve just completed my second class in a 6-week beginner course in Ashtanga Yoga.  Now I know the two sun salutes. 

I’ve been practicing on my own every morning (except today, you’re supposed to have a day of rest as well) and I can already see improvement.  I’ve had so much energy at work.  It’s such a great feeling to stretch out and start each day on such a positive note.  It’ll be a long road to learn the whole sequence, but once I know it by heart I can continue to practice at home.  I encourage you to look up the moves though, they get rather scary!

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

1 thought on “Practice and Party”

  1. Hi Emma! I just wanted to give you a quick hello. I’ve been reading your blog. It’s so fun to hear about the stuff you’re up to. We should catch up over skype sometime soon! xoxo Tricia

Leave a Reply

