So here’s what you’ve missed…

I’ve been back to my old bad blogger ways of late. Sorry to anyone actually reading that I’ve let it go awhile since the last post.  Been so busy!  This post covers the very lovely weekend I had last week (21st/22nd).

Last Saturday, Matt and I had a little outing to Guildford.  This is a little town famous for its antique and tea shops.  We were mainly headed straight for the used bookstore Matt had often heard praised.  It did not disappoint!  I came away with a few novels and a couple of cookbooks.

I love browsing through used bookstores.  You just never know what you might find.  I am especially excited about the giant Marie Claire seasonal cookbook I bought for only $16.  It’s got a section for every season and includes breakfasts, mains AND desserts for each.

It was nice being out just the two of us, and it was a beautiful day.  Winter in Perth is completely unpredictable.  It’s a downpour one day, sunny the next, then freezing.  Makes no sense, but I’m happy to take advantage of the fine weather when it comes.

Saturday was also our friend Annabeth’s 21st birthday party.  In Australia the 21st birthday is a big one.  People usually throw a huge bash with a bar tab and a key-shaped cake.  I don’t really get it, but I’m always happy to celebrate!  My dear Annabeth is all about color and general pizzazz, so I made sure to wear my gorgeously special Dior lippy for the occasion.  The lighting is terrible in our bathroom, but here’s the best photo I have.

I was also able to wear heels for the first time since I rolled my ankle back in February!  I’ve been feeling pretty good for quite a while, but heels was one of the final frontiers of recovery (the last being the basketball game I played in the following Monday).

Annabeth was in such high demand that we didn’t end up getting a photo with her.  We did manage to get some with other friends, though.  I wish I’d been able to snap a photo of the gorgeous cake her sisters made for her.  It really looked professional.  I cannot wait to learn to make pretty cakes!

At this point I’d already lost my voice.  Now I’m finally over the cold/flu that took over my life for the past 4 or 5 weeks.  I hardly ever get sick (though since moving to Australia I’ve been extremely injury-prone).  It’s been frustrating having this flu that won’t quit.

 

On Sunday morning before my soccer game I went to The Tuck Shop in Northbridge to meet up with Teri for breakfast.  I’ve been absolutely dying to try this place and it ended up exceeding even my highest expectations.  I used to work with the chef/owner back in 2010/11.  He is a genius and this place is a masterpiece.

 

Teri has been in South Africa for the last month, so it was amazing to see her.  We are workout and breakfast buddies, and she has also been on all of my indoor soccer teams.  There’s no one else in my life quite like Teri.

This is the beautiful lamb dish I had for breakfast.  It was delicious.  No other way to describe it really.  It was perfect!

I have already run way too long on this post, so I will leave the updates at that.  I have so much going on at the moment, and I’m eager to share, but I should really do it in smaller doses.  This past weekend I left little room for fun and devoted my whole Saturday to “getting organized.”  Hopefully I’ll soon be the model of a woman who has “got it together.”  I hate to be scattered.  Busy and structured is best for me!

 

 

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

One thought on “So here’s what you’ve missed…”

Leave a Reply

