Donna & Margaret (&Emma!) oh my!

Nothing puts me in a better mood than great cooking.  As I have mentioned on several occasions, it is a growing passion of mine.  I don’t have any sort of food background, it’s never been a big deal in my family.  But over the past few years I’ve enjoyed honing my skills and taking some risks in the kitchen.  This was a fantastic week of firsts for me.

My favorite foodie is Donna Hay.  She’s a beautiful Australian food stylist and revolutionary cook.  I have one of her books: Fast, Fresh, Simple, but the long-term plan is to collect them all!  She is all about cooking in-season, fast and simple meals.  I admire her for all she has been able to accomplish.  Her name is a brand recognized throughout Australia.

Through my book and Donna’s website, I was able to dedicate four days in a row to her recipes.  In this string of dinners, I made my first ever savory pie, and my first ever soup from scratch!

Chicken and Leek Pie

Sweet Potato and Goats Cheese Soup

I have been slowly developing a cookbook collection, but it can get a bit pricey.  Yesterday after work I went to the nearest library to pick up a few volumes to give Matt and I some fresh dinner ideas for the coming weeks.  Predictably I grabbed two of Donna Hay’s books, and also one by Margaret Fulton.  She is another household name in Australian cooking.

Salads+Veggies, Fruit

An Aussie classic!

Tonight we took a leaf out of Margaret’s book to make our first ever Beef Stroganoff.  Unfortunately I didn’t snap a photo tonight, but it was delicious and I think I could already make it from memory next time!  Personally I love any dish that pairs well with rice.

Later this week we’ve got some fun meals planned.  We did all of our shopping tonight, and I especially enjoyed picking out a handful of new spices.  It used to be I wouldn’t dream of attempting a recipe if I didn’t recognize some of the ingredients.  But now in a matter of days I’ll be trying out my first Tandoori Chicken!  Just need to sort out a turkey baster…

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

Leave a Reply

