Baking project: Soft-serve anyone?

My dear friend Hannah and I were flipping through photos on the Three Belles facebook page a few weeks ago, and she saw an amazing baking idea for her boyfriend’s birthday cake.

Three Belles is the name of my friend Isabelle’s little one-woman cake company.  She’s a brilliant talent, and hers is the perfect page to go to for a little sweet treat inspiration.  Before I get into our experience, I just want to share one more example from her site.  Check it out sometime, she’s amazing!

Moving along to our baking project, the other day Hannah and I headed to Claire’s to start phase one of Mike’s birthday cakes.  We decided that icing them and then transporting them would be pretty impossible.  The bulk of the work happened on the first day.  We made three kinds of cake batter: red velvet, vanilla and chocolate.

Hannah getting all the ingredients out.

Claire whipping up some chocolate cake!  Gotta love the giant Starbucks mug.

The taste test is always important!

I was responsible for the red velvet (of course!) and this time it went much faster than usual.  I wish Claire could always be around helping with the measurements, and I also wish I had a fancy mixer at home to bake hands-free.

I love a really deep red when making red velvets.  I tend to overdo it on the color, but once you put the dry ingredients in with the rest, it comes out beautiful.

This production never would have worked at our house.  Look at all this counter space!

The trick is not to overfill them.  Though we were perhaps a little too cautious at first.

Since I’ve still been battling a cold over the last couple of weeks, I opted for cozy these past few days.  When I’m sick, I like to dress in color.  I hate to look as drab as I feel.  Leggings, fashion beanie, floral scarf, slipper socks, and colorful tops make this outfit a winner.  Warm, but vibrant is the key!

Claire will never break concentration.  She’s a very methodical person.  Very good quality in baking!

Out of the oven!  I tend to take my baked goods out early.  There’s nothing I hate more than dry cookies or cupcakes.  Red velvets are all about that moist buttery flavor.  Even though some of them collapsed in the middle, they were all the more delicious.

Yesterday was Mike’s Geordie Shore themed birthday party.  We made the frosting after I finished work and quickly split up to get ready.  Maria came this time to help make icing, so it went super fast.  Claire, Hannah and I got to Mike’s early to frost the cones.  It was hectic, but we managed to finish before any guests arrived.

                                                                                                                                                                                    I went with “the next morning” for my Geordie Shore outfit.  I’ve never seen the show, but from what I gather it’s just the English version of Jersey Shore.  I mussed up my hair and threw it in a bun.  I searched into my soul for my inner Edina and went with leggings and Ugg boots.  The finishing touches were my sweater on inside out and smudgy makeup.  Everyone was jealous not to have thought of it.  I was just feeling too sick to have a short skirt and bare legs last night.

Friends for the festivities!

I think people just don’t know what to say about each others’ outfits when we’re supposed to look terrible.

I held out for speeches, but Claire had to take me home before 10pm.  I was having a nice time catching up with everyone, but I just hit a wall and felt too sick to stay.  Not to mention I had major frog voice.

This morning my nose has decided to drain itself, so there’s a pile of crumpled tissues in the little bin near our bedroom door (SWISH!) and an even bigger pile littered around it.  Matt’s still sleeping next to me.  I didn’t have it in me to leave the warmth yet, it’s so cold in our house!

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

2 thoughts on “Baking project: Soft-serve anyone?”

Leave a Reply

