Gridiron Saturday

As my own form of social belated celebration for the 4th of July, I organized an American Football afternoon with friends.  Matt and some of his friends have played together some in the past, but yesterday I introduced them to the concept of “flag football.”  We all wore socks or towels tucked into our shorts to make for tackling without all the injuries.  Though there were several late withdrawals, we still had 11 people show up to play.  Despite forecasts of rain all weekend, it was a gorgeous day.

My friend Thuy is the best at celebrating.  She’s flying high here when her team was winning!

I love Mike’s victory dance post-touchdown.  Traditionally a rugby guy, he picked up NFL really quickly.  Loved his enthusiasm.  He and Maria were naturals at gridiron!

I think after every play we mostly just couldn’t stop laughing.  It was a great game because everyone had fun and got involved.

Ian’s looking serious with his cool gloves.  Some of Matt’s and my friends are just as into NFL as we are, so they came to play in all the right gear!  Though, Maria and I did wear our football boots, so I suppose we brought our A-game as well.

It was hard to get good photos at this time of day with all the shadows from the sun.  This was Matt’s team.  Luckily we don’t get too competitive when we play on opposite teams.  Though he did tackle me “for real” once by accident.  Claims he was trying to punch the ball out while I was running after a catch…lol.  Didn’t hurt me of course, it was all in good fun.  Everyone was in a serious fit of giggles.

This was my team, plus Li who was playing offense for both teams.  I’ve had a bit of a throw and kick with Danny and Li before, so I knew they had the skills, but I was blown away by Jonny’s throwing abilities.  We’d never played together before, but he sure was a great weapon at quarterback!  Also at one point he turned a not-so-great throw from me into a fantastic touchdown catch.

By the end of it, lots of us were pretty beat.  I always forget how tiring football can be.

Yes I am wearing shorts.  I’m so glad we had some girls show up today.  Next time we hope there will be more.

Ha, my fringe is out of control.  Matt and I taking our post-game photo.  We both had a lot of fun yesterday.

It started to get cold once the sun dropped, but what a beautiful day!  It was sunny, but not hot.  This was definitely a good winter activity.  I think some people were surprised to learn how much fun gridiron can be.  It’s the perfect sport to play with friends because you don’t need previous skills to participate and have a good time.  I am so appreciative to those who came.  Most are keen to get another game going soon.  Hopefully word will spread and we’ll get heaps of new recruits!

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

3 thoughts on “Gridiron Saturday”

  1. Sounds like you had great fun!
    I paid my homage to the 4th by having bbq ribs. :)
    The 4th of July and Christmas are the times I get a bit nostalgic about the motherland.
    Thanks for sharing your pics.
    Cheers,
    Laura

  2. Thanksgiving is the hardest for me. I keep saying “this is the year” when I’ll commit to making the meal, but it never materializes. Though this year we’re leaving for the US a few days after TG, so I’m guessing I’ll be too stressed packing. How long have you been away from home?

Leave a Reply

