23 day n’ nite or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Blazer

The key to translating a look from day to night is all in the details.  Small changes can take a look from daytime shop to nighttime club.  Today is my make-up for missing day 19, and the promise was that I would create two looks: one for my day of running errands and “getting stuff done” and a second for going out tonight with my friends.

DAY 

I decided almost the moment I conceived of the idea that today would be all about my black blazer.  It’s from The Limited and originally my mother helped me pick it out for job interviews.  Though we’d already purchased a full suit for the purpose, she convinced me that the black blazer is something a girl definitely needs in her closet, “just in case.”  Well, as usual, she was right!

DAY

Blazers are hot at the moment.  Seems everyone is stocking up on these sorts of menswear-for-women type pieces these days.  Call something a “boyfriend” tank or jeans, and you can bet they’ll be flying off the shelves.  But it’s all drab; this trend has thankfully brought us what we call the “Statement Blazer.”  I can’t wait to get my hands on one; when I hit the shops my eyes are always on the prowl for that piece that absolutely screams.

When thinking about how to pull off the blazer, I consult the guru on the subject: Ellen DeGeneres.  Perhaps you haven’t noticed, but she has an incredible sense of style.

If you’re looking to pull of menswear for women, Ellen is your quintessential guide.  Everything she wears is tailored, carefully thought out, and comfortable.  Plus she has amazing shoes!  Even browsing for photos on google, I experienced severe sartorial envy.

For the day look, I thought, WWED?  Instead of boots or cute little flats, I went with the navy keds to keep things super casual.  I also went with my everyday E necklace and simple earrings.  I even forewent eye makeup to keep my eyes fresh and clean for the night transformation.

NIGHT

Nighttime was lots of fun and took a bit more consideration.  I rolled up the sleeves to show a little skin and relieve myself from the heat of a dance floor.  I also went with smoky eyes and an updo to glam things up.  I hate to have hair sticking to the back of my neck when I’m dancing with the girls, and always end up throwing it up anyway.  Better to start the night with purpose.

NIGHT

For the sake of my recent ankle injury, I decided not to include any loud heels in the 30 lineup.  Instead I went with the Urban boots as they love my black jeans and are winter chic.  Jewelry for nightlife doesn’t need to shout, but it should imply, Look at me, I have great taste!  Here’s how I add color to the otherwise super black ensemble.  Lips are a perfect way to add a pop of color as well, though I don’t usually combine statement eyes and lips in the same look.  Went with eyes for tonight.

NIGHT

Well I need to wrap things up and start heading out the door.  I’m so pumped to take my new camera out tonight.  And I don’t have to be at the pitch until noon tomorrow, so it’ll be a good night for sure!  Hope you’ve all got something exciting planned for your Saturday night.  Tootles!

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

2 thoughts on “23 day n’ nite or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Blazer”

Leave a Reply

