18

It’s already past my bedtime, and I was quite tempted to leave this one for tomorrow, but I feel I won’t sleep without writing.  After soccer training Maria came in for a quick tea, then my book took priority over blogging.  I had about 20 pages left of We Need to Talk About Kevin, the novel I’ve been reading, and I just had to finish it.  I have to say it is the best book I have read this year.  I won’t say anything more, but do yourselves a favor and go buy a copy ASAP.  And take the time to read the book people, don’t cheat and watch the movie!

Today my number one goal was to incorporate my lovely blue pants (from Country Road) into another outfit.  We finally had a beautiful sunny day, so it ended up being the perfect Monday for a little color.  It pairs nicely with my little gray cardi and vintage-print tee.

Last night while hastily drying my hair, I added way too much product and woke up with a yucky, almost greasy mop.  The best way to get by on a bad-hair day is to wear a messy bun and a headband.  Make ’em think you did it on a whim.

My headgear for the day is actually a bandana.  I get many compliments whenever I wear it, but I’ve stopped bothering to correct people’s “I love your headband!”  I saw a contestant on Project Runway wear her hair this way years ago, and I’ve loved the style ever since.  When I first came to Australia and discovered real quick I’d be pulling my hair back most of the time, I searched high and low for the perfect bandana.  I ended up finding this one in a little Mount Lawley gift shop called Store.

I think one of the greatest things about 30 in 30 is that it’s forced me to dig through my jewelry and my stashes of accessories to create these different looks everyday.  It’s fun finding pieces you’d nearly forgotten.  Here’s hoping I find more hidden treasures this week!

 

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

Leave a Reply

