16? Sicksteen

Sadly today Matt and I are both suffering from massive headaches.  I think in my case it’s extreme dehydration, though I cannot speak for him.  We’ve both got the aches and shakes associated with an oncoming cold, though nothing will stop me from playing soccer tomorrow.

I was up before the sun to get ready for boxing.  Maria and I had an amazing session and I can honestly say I left nothing on the table.  It felt amazing to sweat out what, for me, has been an emotionally daunting week.  After a little brekky, I joined Matt on his 9.5k run.  I need to get my butt in gear for race training, so I was happy to have an excuse to go.  My knees and hips failed me, but I made it through anyway.  I hate when the niggles come calling before you’ve even broken a sweat.

After the run and a long hot shower, I spread out on the couch, too lazy and achy to dry my hair.   Instead I let it air out before forcing myself to get dressed in real clothes.  (When I feel sick my best friends are my vintage Green Bay Packers sweatshirt and my North Stars sweatpants.)  We did a half-hearted shop at Coles this afternoon.  I went with my big wool sweater from Witchery and my comfy jeans and Keds.  The scarf is from Target.  I love the way it falls, I think the effect is incredible.  I pinned my waves to one side, rather than heightening my headache with a tight ponytail.

It’s hard to see in this photo, but the finishing touch to today’s outfit are my adorable yellow earrings.  They have miniature pressed flowers in them.  My friend, Catherine, got them from Pigeonhole for my 25th birthday.  I love how feminine they are.  I love circular earrings; they remind me of the fifties and make me feel girly and pretty.

When we got home, we rushed to put the groceries away so we could resume our positions on the couch.  Matt’s currently playing FIFA while I sort out a few things for my singing group and write this post.  I’m still wearing the sweater.  It’s so cozy I feel like I’m wearing a thick blanket.  Thankfully this is much more fashionable than a snuggie.  We’re feeling too worn out to make dinner, so I’m sipping tea and contemplating soup or porridge.

Hopefully tomorrow I’ll wake up feeling refreshed.  We’ve got a long way to travel for this week’s game, and the opponents are notoriously rough.  Afterward I head straight to singing rehearsal.  Crossing my fingers I’ll at least have time to shower.  See you all tomorrow then, enjoy your weekend!

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

Leave a Reply

