13 & 14 days later

Though this is another double post, it will be a short one (I hope).  Last night my hairdryer broke when my head was still half wet, and I felt like just going to bed rather than staying up to recount the events of the day.  I went out and bought a new one today, but I sense impending illness so maybe it’s too late.  Here’s what I wore yesterday:

My coat doesn’t count as part of the challenge, but I thought an outdoor photo could be a nice change.  I got it from an H&M in Budapest.  Actually it was the day after I met Matt.  It got me through Europe, but after this is over I need to go looking for a proper winter one for our trip to America.

I wore my Seed Femme navy capris, going for a functional high-water sort of look.  It’s funny how wearing pants slightly above the ankle is cute when it’s on purpose, and comical when it isn’t.

Today I decided it was high time to bust out the flirty black skirt.  Mostly I just wanted another excuse to wear winter tights.  These are the cutest.  I have to pair them with the right outfit to pull it off, and to be honest I love how this turned out. 

After work I went walking around the city despite the rain.  I found a hairdryer on sale and some much-needed spandex pants for outdoor winter workouts.  My evening soccer sessions are getting colder every week, so I needed one more option for keeping my legs warm.  Plus the half-marathon training is nigh!

Since I was unable to dry my hair properly, it was another good day for a cool-looking braid.  It’s looking a little wind-whipped in the photo, but this is an inside-out french braid.  Rather than tying it over the top, you tuck the pieces under one another.  It’s difficult to achieve on your own head, but I somehow made it work.  I had to make it twice to get it straight; it’s a tricky one.

Both today and yesterday I wore my new turtle earrings.  I got them about a month ago from a little shop called Wild Lily Empire.  There are a few of them in Perth, and they carry cute jewelry, bags, and little odds and ends.  It’s a chic (and thankfully, affordable) little boutique.  These adorable little babies get plenty of positive attention.  I must admit, I’m in love!

I’m looking forward to tomorrow and the weekend.  It’s absolutely freezing at work, so I’ll be counting down the minutes to 2:30pm.  When I finish tomorrow, a friend is meeting me for coffee before leaving Perth.  I’ve made so many traveler friends since I arrived; it’s a little sad to be constantly saying goodbye.  Last time Jonna and I went for coffee we completely forgot to pay (though she did go back later to rectify that embarrassing situation). À bientôt mes amis!

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

Leave a Reply

