That Makes a Dozen

Day 12 and it’s the worst weather yet.  Matt and I are chilling on the couch, listening to some of the strongest winds I’ve ever heard in Perth.  Apparently the worst should come between 10 and midnight tonight.  Cross your fingers we don’t lose power…or the roof…

After work today I went straight to boxing with Maria.  We haven’t been able to make it since last week, so it felt good to sweat it all out.  I love a workout that’s so intense that you literally have to peel your clothes off afterward.  At boxing class, I’m always dripping with sweat within the first 10 minutes.  It’s a pretty great feeling.

Since taking these photos I have traded jeans for sweatpants, but I’m still loving my cozy little cardi.  Mom got it for me for my birthday from Ann Taylor.  It’s so soft and light as a feather.  It’s amazing how something can be so weightless and warm at the same time.

Completing the look are my moccasins. They are so lovely to slip on in the evenings.  I love a shoe that functions both in and out of the house.  These are good for cooking as well, because my veggie chopping sometimes sends little pieces flying onto floor.  I hate getting sticky bits stuck to my socks.

My apron is one of my favorite things.  I always wear it when I cook.  It’s not flashy or overly cute, but it’s certainly saved all my favorite clothes from splatters in the kitchen.  I usually leave it on when I eat as well.  It’s like a great big bib for adults.

I hate to have free-flowing hair when I cook and eat.  Having to constantly tuck wayward strands behind my ears really ruins the experience.  Normally I throw it up in a giant clip or a high bun.  Today I opted for a braid to hide my rushed blow-dry.  I hate wasting my time with the careful styling when I’ll soon be sleeping away all that hard work.

Matt and I are starting a training plan for the half-marathon in August.  It will be hard for me to fit it all in with all my other sport going on, but I’m excited to get back into running.  It’s a major goal of mine to run a marathon, and I think this will certainly be a stepping stone in that direction.  Hopefully these crazy storms won’t hold us back.  See you tomorrow…if we survive!

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

Leave a Reply

