X & XI

As I predicted, a packed schedule means two posts in one again.  Yesterday I had a soccer game in frightening conditions, followed by some hard work in the kitchen before a final Treble Clefs rehearsal and sleepover.  There was a tornado IN PERTH the other day.  Weather like that is practically unheard of in this part of the world.  The winds have hardly died down since.  It almost makes me feel at home again.  Uprooted trees and damage to houses sounds a lot like a typical Edina summer thunderstorm.

For my evening rehearsal with the girls, I opted for a combination of style and comfort.  This owl sweater from Sportsgirl is one of the things Matt helped me pick out for my birthday.  Instead of presents this year he took me shopping and I got to choose a few treats for myself. 

I know a memorable piece like this probably isn’t smart in a 30 in 30 challenge, but I hadn’t worn it yet so I just had to include it.  My tan boots made a comeback as well because, let’s face it, I could wear them everyday.  I went with my comfier H&M jeans over the black ones.  Singing and tight-waist pants don’t mix.

Before singing with the girls, Matt and I made a Burmese pork curry that was pretty delicious, but incredibly filling.  Plus it took us about an hour to chop up all the ingredients and prepare the marinade alone.  I had to cut the pork belly with kitchen scissors; the skin was that tough.  We’ll be having leftovers tonight.  I have to say I love cooking big meals one day and resting the next.  Keeps it from becoming a chore.

Today the Treble Clefs performed for a senior day center not too far outside the city.  We were lucky the suburb still had power; these crazy winds seem to be knocking it out everywhere, especially south of the river. (Perth and its surrounding suburbs are often referred to as being North or South based on the Swan River that passes just south of downtown.)  Apparently an apartment complex in my neighborhood lost its entire roof to these frantic gusts.

Our dress code for the performance was dress nice, dress black.  Luckily I included a simple black cotton dress in the 30 in 30 lineup.  I got it from The Gap years ago and it still makes an appearance every now and then.  I paired it with my sparkly headband and some H&M tights Hannah brought back for me from Europe. 

My little black flats are from Target.  I picked them up because my nice ones were developing holes in the heels.  Hmm, I should really get those to a cobbler…

The concert was lovely and the audience was very appreciative.  We’d been to their center once before, so we knew to expect a warm welcome.  Now that it’s over we’re going to focus our musical energies on prep for some busking adventures in the coming months.  We’ll likely do it in Fremantle first as they don’t charge artists for a license to busk (perform in the streets).  The proceeds will most likely go to charity and to funding future projects.

I took the day off work to sing, so some of the girls went for cake and chai after the gig.  That is where Maria took today’s photos.  The weather’s supposed to get even worse throughout the week, so it’ll probably be lots more warm and comfy outfits for awhile.  An excuse to wear pretty scarves? Yes, please!

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

Leave a Reply

