9 is for buddies

Saturdays are my most chilled day of the week, and today was no exception.  No work, no soccer; it’s the only day of the week I’m not rushing from place to place.  It’s Matt’s and my designated hang-out day.

This morning started with the big grocery shop for the week.  We always try to avoid Coles on weekends, but we didn’t have another opportunity this past week.  Over breakfast, I pulled out all my cookbooks and flicked through assigning post-its to the “maybes” for the week.  When Matt woke up, he had his say, and I made our very long and very specific list.  All-all we’re feeding ourselves at least 6 meals for only $103!  I’m quite proud of that, food shopping is depressingly expensive.  Here’s what I wore for our day together:

 

Blue pants: Country Road

Necklace: Red Tiger

Headband: Homemade!

 

I love these blue pants.  When I first bought them I was wearing them all the time.  They are meant to hit just above the ankle, but my legs aren’t long enough for that, so sometimes I roll them up just a little.  Though, they work just as well as full-length pants on me.

Sadly my headband isn’t completely visible, but I made it myself.  I bought the fabric from Spotlight for a costume party.  I made a toga, and this originally served as a braided rope belt.  I like it just as well as a headband.  It’s always a shame to wear something only once, so I recommend looking at the possible uses for random little crafts like this.  I’m loving headbands at the moment.  I think they’re especially fun with my new bangs.

I found the necklace while digging through my jewelry for something interesting to share.  I can’t believe I’d forgotten about it.  It’s been months since I’ve worn it.  I love long chains; I find them very chic.

Today is the only day it hasn’t rained in ages, so I did a massive load of laundry as soon as I woke up this morning.  Even after leaving the clothes outside all day, they were still a bit damp when I brought them in at 4:30.  Perth winter is quite overcast and rainy, so doing laundry can be pretty frustrating.  Especially when we don’t have a dryer!  The upside is that laundry cat visited today.  He always comes around when we’re out taking clothes down off the line.  He was furiously scratching his face and chin on everything he could find, so that’s a bit worrying.  My legs got a fair bit of love as he wandered in figure-eights around me.  He kept slamming his head into my calves to try and give himself a bit of a scratch.  After the laundry came in we had a run around the lake.

Tonight’s dinner was one of Donna Hay’s Fast, Fresh, Simple recipes.  It’s a lime and lemongrass chicken.  I love anything that incorporates coriander (cilantro), so it’s a win for me.  Sadly it wasn’t as flavorful as the Thai curry we made last week, but it was still pretty yum!

The next two days are busy busy so it could be another two-in-one post coming your way.  Enjoy the rest of your weekend everyone!

 

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

Leave a Reply

