Double Issue: 5&6

I just got home from an hour and a half in the downpour.  Perth is one of those places where it doesn’t just rain, the wind likes to whip us about as well.  Soccer training goes on until there are whispers of lightning, so we were quite pleased to have our team spray jackets handy.  Too bad the hoods couldn’t keep our ears warm…BRRRRR!

With the yucky weather, my clothes haven’t been too inspiring for days 5 and 6.  Nevertheless, I’ve got a few photos to share.  Tuesday first.

The key pieces for day 5 are my navy Keds and my Sarah Blasko concert t-shirt.  After work yesterday Matt and I walked to the shops for a few essentials.  My Keds are my favorite walking shoes.  When I was in Scotland back in 2009, the incessant rain was ruining my boots.  My friend and I both purchased Keds for 25 pounds and it is still one of my best ever purchases.  The t-shirt is so soft and comfy, and I bought it at a Sarah Blasko show in 2010.  She’s a beautiful Aussie musician and I love her style.  I find the design of the shirt very lovely and artistic.

Today my outfit didn’t last long.  After the bus ride home I shivered through the quickest little photo shoot before changing into sweats to cook dinner.  Our house is about the same temperature as outside, so we were very happy making and eating a hearty meal tonight.

Top: Seed Femme

Scarf: Ann Taylor

This scarf was a birthday gift from my mom.  I love it.  Circle scarves (or whatever normal people call them) are absolutely brilliant and I almost wish I could trade all of mine in for ones like this.  It’s so warm and thick without getting in the way.  I opted for the Keds for a second day as they are tough little guys in the rain.

I thought I’d include a few hair shots as well today.  I love playing with my hair.  I’m very much a girl like that.  I sometimes look online for ideas for new updos and cool styles.

I have to wear my hair pulled back at work, so braids work really great to keep things interesting.  One of the main reasons I cut bangs was so my hair would at least look styled everyday.  I’m still loving the fringe, and today I got to pair it with one of my favorite easy hairstyles.

Almost done with week 1, I’m really hoping this rain won’t dampen my sartorial spirits.  See you tomorrow with (hopefully) something fabulous!

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

Leave a Reply

