Four’s lucky

As it is a WA public holiday, Maria and I started our morning by taking advantage of a special 8am boxing class.  Normally on weekdays they are at 6am.  We don’t have the usual Monday soccer training tonight, so the extra session seemed like the perfect alternative.  When we arrived, the owner asked us to pick a number between 1 and 10.  I picked lucky 8 and won free gold boxing gloves!

After boxing I came home, and Matt and I skyped with my family for a while.  It was the first time all six of us were “together” this year.  Hard to believe!  It was amazing to talk and laugh with them; I can’t wait until our trip to Minnesota at the end of the year.

Now down to sartorial business: Today Matt and I took quite a long run/walk, making for a very late lunch.  I had to quickly shower and rush to dry my hair and pick an outfit before he starved.  Here is what I came up with under pressure:

Top: Transit

Capri Pants: Seed Femme

Shoes: Nine West

Bag: Longchamp

Despite being overcast, the weather was absolutely beautiful today.  I love when you walk out the front door and it’s warmer outside than in.  It’s only a shame I didn’t get to wear my outfit longer, mostly it served as the ensemble for today’s afternoon cat nap.

The photo doesn’t do it justice, but I’m wearing a white and gold sparkly headband from Love Culture.  I actually haven’t worn it before as I just bought it recently.  It felt a bit like a tiara when I first put it on, but I really love it.  That plus the Target leaf earrings really glam up the soft capris and plain white t.  Since I only had a few minutes to dry my hair, I opted for the messy side bun.

Below are the cute navy flats I bought from Nine West back when I was in college.  I remember having a desperate need for them at the time, and my good friend and roommate Kat pushing me to buy them.  This is one of those moments when need outweighed expense.  Lucky for me they’ve been a staple in my wardrobe ever since.  The only problem is they get a bit sticky in extreme Australian heat.  Perfect with tights though!

The pants here are too big for me now, so I’ve got my belt on tight to keep them up.  I bought them when I first got to Australia and had put on a few pounds.  Thankfully not a big enough difference to discard them entirely because they are adorable and so comfortable.  Softer than khakis and hitting at that perfect spot slightly above the ankle, I would say I’m in love.  The bracelet is fairly new; I bought it to go with other teal bangles I’d purchased for a Bollywood party.  The Longchamp bag comes from France and is my favorite everyday item.  It’s so durable and timelessly fashionable without trying too hard.  I hate bags with hundreds of buckles and bangles.  Function over flair for me, for sure!

Tonight Matt and I are hanging in to watch movies, and we’re making spinach and ricotta gnocchi for dinner.  We’ve never attempted it before, so I’m nervous, but excited.  Even if they don’t turn out perfect I’m sure I’ll love them.  Things always taste better to me when I know the work I put in to make them.  Sadly tomorrow it’s back to the grind.  Hopefully I’ll still be able to put together a few fierce and fabulous outfits for you!

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

Leave a Reply

