30 in 30

Hi friends!

My beautifully fashionable friend Alli did something called the 30 in 30 challenge back in February 2011.  Looking through her blog yesterday, I realized that this was exactly the kind of thing I needed right now!

30 in 30 is basically this: Choose 30 items of clothing and produce 30 unique outfits in 30 days using those pieces only (plus unlimited accessories of course).  The original creator of this amazing project is fashion blogger, Kendi.  The object of the game is to find new appreciation for your wardrobe and to learn how to “shop your closet” rather than buying a new outfit for a single event.

Expect a lot of scarves, tights and jewelry to mix up what will eventually get to be a very dull month sartorially speaking.  But who knows?  Perhaps 30 outfits will be a snap. I hope.

The key players:

According to Alli, my winter coats don’t count which is really helpful for me. Doing this challenge in winter would be pretty difficult if my leather jacket (currently my only jacket) counted. Though I did make my black blazer one of the items, so I feel that’s meeting in the middle.  It was probably stupid to choose 8 pairs of shoes and only one skirt (which was a last-minute add when I realized I’d picked none). I think shoes take a big part in creating an outfit so I wanted some of my favorites to shine.

I expect several personal challenges along the way, the biggest one being that I wear a uniform to work everyday and often have sport in the evenings.  I’ll try to save the most boring outfits for those afternoons when a wear means the bus ride home and maybe dinnertime.

I’m so excited to add plenty of bling to this mix! It’s sorta perfect that this challenge fell in my lap two days before the end of May.  So June is my 30 in 30 remix month.  Can’t wait to get started this WA long weekend!

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

Leave a Reply

