Fringe Benefits

Yeah, that’s right, I GOT BANGS!I keep meaning to announce this on my blog, and by now I’m sure most people already know.  I’m overwhelmed by the positive response to the change.  I still have yet to take a really great photo of the new do, but I will never stop trying!

The photo here is from this weekend.  It has been quite an eventful one at that.  Last night Matt and I had a double date with friends.  It was a wonderful meal and a really lovely setting.  It’s pretty rare that we make the short trek to Hillarys Boat Harbour, but it really made for a lovely evening.

In the morning we had gone to Lake Monger to take photos of the local (exotic) birds.  Matt always teases me for finding them so interesting.

We learned from a quick google search that black swans are native only to Western Australia.  I will admit I had no idea they existed until I got here.  The ones at the lake are not even slightly scared of people.  We were able to get right up close to them and sometimes they even approached us of their own accord.

I have always been a big fan of ducks, so it took Matt awhile to drag me away from not only my favorite birdies, but all their cool friends as well.  I think we spent about 20 minutes on one bank.

As we wandered, rainbow lorikeets dive-bombed our heads.  These are some of my favorite Perth birds.  So pretty and colorful, though here they are basically commonplace.  I love that they always frequent palm trees in pairs.  They remind me of the love birds from Hitchcock’s classic.

Matt always loves seeing the Ibis birds.  They are quite regal and quiet, unlike the chatty ‘keets.  Such interesting little guys.

To top off my lovely weekend I ran a 14k race this morning.  There were 20,100 participants, but I was lucky enough to share the experience with my amazing friend, Thuy.  We did our own thing for the actual running, but before and after we stuck together.  I’m already excited to sign up for a half-marathon in August.

The organization of the race was really great.  I loved the little markers at every k.  It was so encouraging.  I wanted to fist pump at 7k.  Unfortunately for me I ended up feeling what turned out to be nasty blisters around that time.

I love the race setting and how you can just ignore everything and focus on finishing.  With my recent ankle and knee injuries I hadn’t even trained, so I went in knowing it would hurt, but it was much easier than I’d imagined.  I can’t wait to do another race!

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

Leave a Reply

