Greetings, Sun

It’s been about a week and a half since the physio granted me permission to take “short, light jogs” and this morning I had my sixth.  Monday my ankle was too sore, so I iced up and have gone the last two mornings instead.  After last week’s reprimanding (both Matt and the physio scolded me for going for a 40 minute run after waking up sore), I have been careful to listen to my body and to always ice after work or exercise.

Now I’m just propping atop my frozen corn and finishing my yoghurt with muesli (basically just the Aussie term for granola) after a fantastic run.  Every evening before a 5:10 wake up, I am sure to be in bed by 9:30.  I’ve been struggling to sleep, jolting awake often, afraid my alarm is moments from erupting.  I’ve even had vivid dreams of being a Biggest Loser contestant where my comrades are telling me it’s okay if I just want that extra hour of sleep instead.

Even with all the stressful sleep and the moment of “I don’t wanna” when the buzzer eventually sounds, I haven’t missed an assignment.  I haven’t gone everyday, but everyday that I’ve planned to, I’ve seen that mission through.  Normally I bolt right up before giving myself a chance to doubt.  This morning I had the slightest hesitation.  I just really didn’t want to go.  But thank goodness I did.

I still run with the same green nano I bought back when I was in college.  I remember at the time it seemed like such an extravagant purchase.  Buying expensive things always made me feel more adult.  Plus it was my initiation into the world of running consistently.  I was leaving the swimmer identity behind and taking up a new sport.  Unless I bring a friend, I still find it really dull to run without Elphaba (named for the Wicked Witch of the West).  I just love the feeling of music pumping through my ears.  I love discovering new jams and just knowing they’ll be great for running.

Normally I am checking the clock on my ipod about every 10 minutes just to make sure I get in at least 30 minutes and allow myself enough time to get ready for work.  I catch the bus at 7:11, so there is a bit of leeway, but I am obsessive over being punctual and I always give myself more time than necessary.  Today I concluded that usually the sun is just coming up when I get home, so I’d just run until sunrise.

When the sun did greet me, however, I was still a ways from home.  I told myself it didn’t matter, I had left 5 minutes later this morning, so I needed that time anyway if I was to hit 30 minutes.  When I finally walked up our driveway and quietly crept through the front door, it was already 6:10!  I had gone 45 minutes.  This is my longest run since spraining my ankle.  Not only that, but when I tested it this morning in bed, I could twist my foot sideways and the pain is now only dull.  I think that I’m finally almost healed.  I cannot wait to play soccer again!

This morning’s workout felt amazing.  My knees were slightly sore by the end, but the breeze felt wonderful, and I was so proud of myself for just pushing on and getting out there in the dark by myself.  I always start these runs a little scared.  It is still nighttime, and I imagine predators lurking at every corner.  But once I relax a bit and just focus on my body, it feels incredible.  I can’t believe I ever wake up not wanting to go; I always love it when I do!  I feel a sense of renewal, like the combination of sleep and exercise prepare me for the day ahead.  My workday goes so much faster, and I’m in such a great mood knowing I’ve gotten a workout in.  Matt and I want to go for more walks in the evenings, so it’s nice having my me time first thing in the morning.  Evening is happily all about us.

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

Leave a Reply

