Announcing: Something tedious to make me happy!

Hello friends! I’ve just finished reading quite a dull book called The Jane Austen Book Club.  I’m sure I should have known better, but forgive me for expecting the characters to actually DISCUSS ol’ Jane here and there.

Matt’s just finished reading Pride and Prejudice, a book I haven’t touched since I was 14.  (But seriously, who needs to when the BBC version is just as amazing as the novel?)  It was wonderful actually discussing a book with him at length.  We are a pair of avid readers, but our literary paths hardly seem to cross.  Odd? Yes. Necessary? Absolutely.

Sure Matt and I share similar opinions on a great many things, but we’re both quick to get defensive and hide behind hurt feelings after the “it was okay” response referring to (in our minds) a masterpiece.

Example: Matt is a HUGE Charles Bukowski fan.  For me, just the one was enough.  Meanwhile he was less than impressed with Kurt Vonnegut Jr., a comic genius, in my opinion.  We can laugh about our differences now, but when you find another person who reads, and you share that intimacy of your favorite books with that person, in the moment of disappointment it can be crushing.  Still I doubt he’ll ever stop nagging me to watch Alien, just as I will never stop suggesting he read Ender’s Game or Watership Down.  Matt loves the “no, that’s for kids” argument in various instances.

So getting to my point, I’d like to use the internet in the form of this blog to discuss books.  It’s a simple concept, but I expect to make it challenging.  This is the third year in a row I’ve attempt to read 50 books.  It was a great success in 2009 (55) and no so much in 2010 (36).  This year I’m a bit behind at 39, but I hope to hit the mark before the end.

In keeping with that theme, I intend to rank the best 50 books I’ve ever read in 5 posts.  10 books at a time.  I once saw a brilliant blog where a guy listed his 100 favorite songs.  I expect this will be equally impossible.  So compiling the list is my homework for the week.  I promise to try to make it a bit visual.  I hope you’ll all be curious enough to check it out!

 

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

2 thoughts on “Announcing: Something tedious to make me happy!”

  1. emma, your book list is very different from mine,nor are they books that I have read or liked. except (The Jane Austin Book Club) which is representative of some of the light books I read. Ialso read my share of Mysteries, I have read about the same amount of books that youhave (slightle less), but as I said the old classics , the russians etc.are long past.I’m glad you are reading some pretty deep stuff. You are so smart. I have just read “The Beasts In the Garden by Eric Larson. Iis about the life of our last ambassador to Germany 1932-1935 just before the Kaiser die and the Nazis took over completely. I paid $4.00 to rent it because there was a waiting list of 200 people in the waiting lineat the Library to rent it. He wrote ,The Devil in the White City which was out about fout years ago. Also read the Stieg Larson trilligy, starting with The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. The Swedish movie of this series was wonderful. I didn’t want to see the American version, but the ads look pretty good. Right now I am dabling in the History of Hebrew, and reading Here at the New Yorker , by Brendan Gill and The Physick Book of Deliverance, by Katherine Howe..I’d love to talk to you more about books, but amso slow on the computer that I have to go to some othe work. My friend Dean, who just died, gave me the last book in the Teddy Roosevelt trilogy so that is high on my list also. I thought you might enjoy seeing the differances in what other people are reading.
    Ta! Ta!
    Grandma

    1. Hi Grandma!!

      I’m so glad you to hear you’re still busy reading :) I read both Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and Devil in the White City a couple years ago and really enjoyed both. I’m sure you’ve read it already, but if you haven’t, you should try The Help, it was amazing. Mom has a copy I think. Love you!

Leave a Reply

