…And Back Again

How embarrassing to let almost two months go by without an update.  I’m not a very reliable blogger.  To say these past several weeks have been busy would be a gross understatement.  I cannot remember any other period of my life in which I felt like I had less time to myself.  I have been constantly on the move, and this time it’s only somewhat my own fault (though Matt might argue otherwise).

A month ago today we spent the first night in our new rental.  We moved not far from where we were before, into a cute old duplex in a quiet neighborhood.  Settling in’s been quite the process, and we’re still only about halfway there.  We still need a few essential pieces of furniture, and the odd appliance.  It’s crazy the things one can easily live without when given the chance (i.e.  I’ve learned how little I need or want a microwave).

My mom was also in town for a few days recently, so that was a frantic week of trying to squeeze in way too much.  It was wonderful having her here though.  She was very complimentary of Perth, to everyone’s surprise but mine.

Summer approaches here on western shores and we’ve already seen some very scary temperatures.  With the change in season, my outdoor soccer season ended.  I missed the steady training and workouts immediately and decided to join the gym.  It’s ridiculously expensive here like it is everywhere, and I (probably unwisely) joined a very nice facility.  I’ve also been running with my pal Teri to keep up fitness.  We’re pondering a marathon, but lack the time to devote ourselves to a set training program together.  I luckily still have basketball and indoor soccer helping me stay social while staying fit.

When I first got to Australia, I was coming off a very dormant phase of my life.  I was spending too much time indoors, I was very isolated in my little French hamlet, and I was of course missing Matt terribly.  The first couple months of my being here was much the same.  I didn’t get a job right away, and I spent far too much time on my butt.  Matt and I were also eating out regularly.

People fault me sometimes for how crazy I’ve allowed my life to get.  I have such a hard time saying no to new commitments.  I’m fully embracing my overactive lifestyle.  In this transition, I’ve lost at least 15 lbs, (probably closer to 20).  My girlfriends are always asking how I’ve done it, and honestly until they first asked the questions several months ago, I hadn’t even noticed the change.  Now it’s pretty obvious since all of my clothes are loose.  I have to say being this fit just motivates me to maintain it.  It’s a gift that I’ve been able to shed those extra pounds, and I certainly don’t want to waste it.

It feels a bit narcissistic to point out these recent changes, especially when I haven’t even been dieting.  I have slowly morphed back into the person I imagine myself to be, rather than the lazier version of myself I’d become.  In my head I have always been an athlete.  The guys at work joke that I do every sport, but I find that a lot of Perth locals are quite active.  In this gorgeous environment I don’t know how you could avoid getting swept up in it.

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

Leave a Reply

