IKEA, anyone?

I have all kinds of news I’ve been meaning to share, but I honestly haven’t had a spare moment to write a post.  I’ll keep it short, as I have no photos to share at this time.

This has been in the works for awhile, but I hesitated to announce it until it was definite: My mom’s coming to Perth!  It’ll be a quick week layover here in between business trips.  I absolutely cannot wait!  I’ve made all sorts of plans already, though I still need to make bookings.  My life seems to be always running off without me and I’m constantly playing catch-up.

The other huge cause for celebration is Matt’s and my impending move!  We found out a little over a week ago that we’d been accepted for a rental property.  It’s a great 3-bedroom duplex.  An older home, but one with a lot of character.  It’s in great shape as the landlady is quite efficient at upkeep.  She’s very sweet.  I’ve already been to IKEA just for fun and to get prices bumping around in my head.  Matt is being much more practical and making lists and budgets, claiming we’ll only be getting the essentials to start.  I’m so lucky to have a level-headed guy to pair with my over-excitement.  But we are both absolutely thrilled.

It’s wonderful to have these big (and little) boosts every now and then.  I’ve over-scheduled myself to the point that it’s started making me unhappy.  I feel like I’m just waiting for the next few months to pass so I have a bit more free time.  I’ve over-committed to this, that and the other thing and it’s time to scale it back.

The other day I got the best boost in the most unlikely place.  My supervisor at the hotel told me a coworker had left something for me in one of the drawers.  At that time my name tag had gone missing (I found it later) and I thought maybe she’d left it there for me.  But when I opened the drawer, an A&W root beer can rolled forward!  I couldn’t believe it.  It’s been quite awhile since my last root beer and it’s one of those things that is impossible to explain to foreigners.  Much like Dr. Pepper.  I couldn’t decide whether to drink it or share it, but last night Matt and I discovered our local takeaway Mexican place serves all the best foreign sodas.  He had his first sip last night.  Apparently root beer tastes like medicine. Sigh.

 

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

Leave a Reply

