Fudge…YUM!

I’ve finally solved the Reeses withdrawal problem!  Today I tried a recipe I saved ages ago off AllRecipes.com for chocolate peanut butter fudge.  As a child, I always preferred brownies over fudge, but it’s something I’ve been meaning to learn anyway just to pad my sweets resume.

I read about 50 reviews of this recipe before trying it and I think I freaked myself out a bit.  There are all of these things that can go wrong with it, overstirring being the main one.  I was careful not to stir at all once I’d gotten it to a boil and turned down the heat.  I think in my nervousness and impatience I probably didn’t let it boil enough initially, because the end result is a bit more grainy than I would like.  Still the taste is amazing, and the texture doesn’t distract from that.  It’s like having a peanut butter cup, only well-mixed rather than peanut butter preserved in the middle of chocolate.

I’m obsessed with the idea of having my own “high tea” lately, hence the random desire to make tiny treats.  I’m building up talents at this point to make a strong menu for the future.  I just need the tea set and about 10 more recipes.  If I had to guess, I’d say this new ambition coincides with my purchase of a “high tea” cookbook.  How curious!

My teammates get to be my critics this evening.  We’ll see how they feel about a peanut butter/chocolate combo.  Tonight I still don’t get to play indoor soccer as I’m plagued with injuries.  My neck and shoulder feel a bit better and I hardly notice the aches in my knee anymore.  I think I’m basically on the mend. We’ll see what the chiro says tomorrow.

 

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

Leave a Reply

