Fun and Falling Apart

I think my body has finally had enough of my ridiculous over-scheduling.  I woke up yesterday with a very sore/pinched right shoulder and mid back, and as the day progressed the pain intensified and crept up my neck.  I booked an emergency session with the chiropractor as the pain started making me dizzy.

Doctor wants me back in right away this afternoon to try to loosen these locked muscles.  Last night I was so miserable; every movement tweaked it.  Poor Matt had to endure my frantic “don’t touch me!” attitude.  Self-protection is a strong emotion.

I’ve called in sick as there’s no way I can work a buffet in my current state, so I’m bored out of my mind in bed, adding apps to my new android phone and catching up on emails.  I never EVER call in sick, so this is quite foreign to me.  I felt absolutely awful having to make that call.

I’ve also been out of sports since last week with a bit of knee soreness.  My soccer coach asked me not to play over the weekend because I didn’t feel 100%.  Looks like my back and neck have put me out for another week, not to mention my knee still needs time.  I certainly don’t sound like a healthy 25-year old.  My busy lifestyle’s catching up with me in both mind and body.

One saving grace has been a few recent nights off from work.  Matt and I are struggling to match up our schedules at this point (which is completely my fault), and it’s really nice to have free nights to hang out together and to catch up with friends.  On Friday our good friend, Maria, had a costume birthday party.  I went as Rizzo.

Matt and Ian went as Ninja Turtles, which was quite exciting.  I loved that show as a kid.  My childhood pal Lizzie and I used to shove licorice down the sewer lids to feed the guys.  Pizza wouldn’t fit down there, so we didn’t have many options.  I remember we feared that perhaps Shredder would come along and steal the treats.  It was a risk we were willing to take.

Matt and I also recently had a long past due double date with our friends, Danny and Thuy.  It felt so nice to have an evening with them.  We went for Italian and just got a bunch of dishes to share.  It worked out to be really cheap, which is always a bonus.

Other than that, my a cappella group is really shaping out nicely.  Everyone’s willing to work hard and have fun, and we’re learning quickly.  We’re singing at a wedding in November.  I anticipate a practice concert for our friends sometime in the next few weeks.  We need to get used to performing for crowds.  Hopefully I’ll have another exciting news announcement in a few days. STAY TUNED!

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

Leave a Reply

