Contemplating the Kindle

I wish to stray for just a moment from my typical blogging repertoire to open the floor for discussion on the topic of iBooks.  I know there are several variations and formats for iReading, but I’ll zero in on the kindle, just for the sake of keeping things simple.

As I have mentioned all too often in the past, I am a beyond avid reader.  At my jobs people are always baffled, claiming I have a new book every time I show up for a shift.  The people at Subi got used to it fairly fast, since I’d always opt for literature over gossip during the short breaks afforded to us staffers.

Now it’s become an interesting facet of Emma for my newer coworkers.  One guy’s even teasing me constantly, claiming break is for relaxing, not reading.  I roll my eyes in a highly exaggerated fashion, and put my nose back in the latest paperback.

I probably “waste” more money on books than on anything else.  Every time I walk past a shop I feel a gravitational pull, and the tempting urge to walk inside is an itch that’s hard to ignore.  It doesn’t help that we’ve doubled up on rows in the small bookshelf in our bedroom.  Matt’s as much a reader as I am.  Though he seems to absorb novels with a meticulous and careful eye, taking his time to savor the details.  Whereas I tear through them like a train wreck, carnivorous and insatiable.  Matt even recently mused that while I have little to no free time, I still manage to read more than he does.  This comes from filling every opportunity with new pages, and carrying a loaded handbag at all times.

But now to the point.  As one who almost never leaves the house without a literary companion, I am curious to hear what people think of the kindle.  I have never wanted one myself.  I love the feel of a book in my hands; the wear and tear of a good one shows up in its vulnerable bindings.  I also find that collecting them is addicting.  When we finally move into our own place in the coming months, I cannot wait to fill the rooms with books.

Yes the kindle can save one a lot of money in the long run, and yes having multiple books at one’s fingertips at all times is enticing, but I don’t think I’m ready to take that leap.  How practical can it really be if I have to worry about it breaking or getting stolen?  Plus I’ve always been a girl who’s more likely to frequent the library over the local pub.  Many of my reads cost me nothing at all.  What are your thoughts, friends? Does anyone even have one?

 

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

1 thought on “Contemplating the Kindle”

  1. I have one! Although I think I’ve talked about it with you before. Evan is getting one for his birthday this week, too. I was very hesitant when they first came out, but got one for Christmas and love it. You can download all of the classics for free. So basically any book that is more than 90 years old (or whatever the copyright law is) is free. I’ve read Edith Wharton, EM Forester, Tolstoy, Viriginia Woolf, Gogol, Hardy for free… and I’m sure there’s many more that I haven’t even searched for.

    More, if you want to read new books they are pretty much always cheaper than an actual book. I would say a reg $14 would usually be $8 on Kindle. Another plus: the HUGE selection, and everything takes 3 min or less to download. A lot less hassle if you’re busy.

    When you’re reading, the text looks like a book. You hardly ever need to plug it in. It’s AMAZINGLY light, and wonderful to bring traveling. You will need to get a case, but I think I got mine on sale on amazon for like $25. Worth it. I have the fancier version, with the internet browser, but the other one is even cheaper. I also hear that some libraries are now offering kindle loans — it will show up on your kindle and then vanish whenever the return date is: pretty neato.

    All in all, I’m sure I will still buy books and read real books. But the kindle is great.

Leave a Reply

