One Year Later

Well there you have it.  It’s been (over) a year since my initial touchdown on the sunny West Coast.  In these 12 months I have had 4 different jobs (and I’m starting training for the fifth on Tuesday), learned dozens of recipes, rediscovered my obsession with tea, found an amazing and tight-knit group of friends to call my own, reincorporated sports into my life, and over-scheduled myself almost every step of the way.  And all of this I’ve done with the best buddy a girl could ask for at my side.  Tonight we drove out to the beach before dinner to watch the sunset, and I told him he is still the person I most want to be around every minute of every day.

This past week we had our first “long” separation, tearing me away from him for three whole days and nights!  I went down south with my wonderful friends for Mike (Hannah’s boyfriend)’s birthday.  There were 8 of us on the trip and we rented a 4-bedroom house (cabin, to you Minnesotans) for the duration.  We drank tea, visited wineries, played pool, sat by the fire and generally enjoyed each others’ company.

My mother will confirm that I am not the world’s best packer.  I tend to fill my suitcase with books rather than clothes.  Knowing this was a purely social adventure, I was sure only to pack the one: The Weird Sisters.  I’d been saving it specially for the trip.  I’d read a review of it in the local paper.  The whole “it’s about three sisters” sentence was enough to get me hooked.

The trip was over before we knew it, which wasn’t so bad since we’d see each other at indoor soccer that same night anyway.  It was good to be back with Matt.  Our reunion hug lasted a longtime.  Poor guy had to stay home and work while the rest of us had fun.

The weekend prior to our sojourn, Hannah and I hit Burswood for dinner and a show.  (This is the giant entertainment complex where I work 4 nights per week.)  We had an amazing buffet and shared a bottle of cheap white, which actually didn’t taste too bad.  Then we excitedly headed over to the theater to take our seats for Wicked.  My girlfriends had chipped in for my ticket as a birthday present long ago, and we couldn’t believe the night was finally here!

Wicked is in town for a few more weeks.  Work’s been really crazy since it opened.  We’re booked every night it’s running, with myriads of diners fooling themselves into thinking they’re the only ones in the joint in a hurry.  Silly buddies.

I also finally started my job at the Duxton Hotel.  It’s easy as. (Hehe aussiespeak.)  I like the people and the atmosphere is quite relaxed.  They started me after the end of the financial year, making my tax return less complicated.  Matt has been anxiously awaiting our tax forms from each of our many employers, and today, we finally filled out the online applications.  I’m getting a boatload back, though it’ll probably be heading straight for my student loan payment account.

 

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

Leave a Reply

