Quite the Little Gourmet

Just a quick one tonight.  I’m in the mood to write for the first time in ages, so I’m going to take advantage of this moment of inspiration.  I just finished The Last Chinese Chef, a book about food, China and love.  I have to say the food and China parts were the most interesting, but I didn’t scoff at the love either.  It was only a 3/5 star book for me, but it got me to thinking about flavor, texture and of course tempted me to plan a trip to Beijing.

Today I went to the dentist and afterward straight to my insurance company’s office in Subiaco to make a claim.  HBF ended up footing about 75% of the bill! What a class act they are.  My refund was more than my monthly fee.  It’s paid for itself this month!  But more importantly, I was able to stop in at the Sri Lankan tea shop nearby.  They constantly have that “be back at…” sign out on the door, so one must scoop up the tea when opportunity strikes.

After going out for “coffee” with the girls on Monday, I’ve been newly obsessed with Masala Chai.  (Coffee’s in parentheses because we all just end up drinking tea.)  I’ve also been on the hunt for a good Jasmine Green, so the outing was a focused one.  The woman running the place is always very matter-of-fact.  She tells you how much tea to use, how long to let it brew, and she ALWAYS has what you’re looking for.  Today when I asked for the Chai, see went off into the back room like this was Chinatown and I was looking for a knock-off Kate Spade.  I felt like quite the little connoisseur.  The tea I happened to desire wasn’t out on display for the casual browser.

I came home and drank two pots of it in a row.  I skyped my parents while enjoying my spoils, and they asked me to consider coming home for Christmas.  Matt and I have no idea if we could do it, but it would of course be amazing if we could pull it off.  I have a feeling we’ll be toiling over this decision for several weeks.

After dinner tonight I was desperate for sweets, and I searched for a treat that would fit the ingredients on hand.  Matt accused me of never making brownies, so I located a simple brownie cookie recipe and made it happen in under an hour.  This is most impressive since my beater is not electric.  They turned out addicting.  My friends devoured nearly all of them tonight.

Last night Matt and I had our first dinner date in ages.  It was nice to celebrate our finishing the visa.  Though I wasn’t expecting the restaurant to be so full!  I introduced him to pork belly, a dish that is très à la mode here in Australia.  It’s funny to work with talented chefs and to watch Masterchef when I can and to notice the trends.  Who knew food could come in waves? I’ve seen so much pork belly, celeriac purée and truffle oil lately, just to name a few.

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

Leave a Reply

