Huzzahs! throughout the land

I apologize for my recent lack of posts, I have been absolutely swamped between work and this visa application.  I got a second job weeks ago, but I haven’t even started yet.  At first it was their not getting organized, and after orientation I just said, talk to me in July.

Tomorrow is the big day! I’m going first thing in the morning to rid myself of this visa burden.  I cannot wait for the enormous sigh to course through my veins.  All my good work at the chiropractor seems to have gone to waste in these final preparations.  I broke down in tears on at least one occasion.  If I didn’t have Matt to hold my hand through the whole thing I wouldn’t make it.

Our friends who are still at Uni have finished exams and celebrated in a big way this past weekend.  Mike (a newer friend and acquaintance, and Hannah’s new boyfriend) threw a cocktail party complete with competition and dress code on Saturday.  In a fit of nostalgia for my Ruby Tuesday days, I decided Matt and I were making Pomegranate Sake Martinis.  Unfortunately I don’t have a photo of our beauties.

It was really nice to have a night with friends.  I feel like I haven’t seen anyone in ages.  Matt and I challenged ourselves to try every cocktail.  We achieved this, but I must admit there were at least 2 or 3 cases where I only took a few sips.  Some of the girls were taking it really easy since we had our indoor soccer grand final the next day.

A week ago we played in the Domesaurs’ first ever semi-final.  We stomped our competition, winning 6-0 to easily make it to the Grand Final.  The ref informed us it would take place on Sunday, which we weren’t really expecting.  Flustered, we managed to get everyone’s schedules freed-up to make it happen.  I even skipped my one chance to meet James Marsters (a favorite actor from Buffy the Vampire Slayer) to be there.

To make a long story short, the team we were meant to play forfeit, and rather than naming us champions, they allowed the losing team from the other semi-final to come and play for the championship.  We were so confused when they arrived and weren’t able to regain composure until we were already a goal down.  We didn’t understand whether the game counted, why we had to play this team, and the game ended 0-1.

In the end, I’m proud of what we accomplished this season.  To go from 8th to 1st in a few months is fantastic.  I think we’ll knock ’em dead this season (which, as it happens, starts tonight).

My fun times have been few and far between lately, so I’ve taken full advantage. My friend Teri and I always have an amazing time one on one, so I took her along to some birthday parties a few weekends ago.  Here are a couple of photos from that weekend.  We were out from about 8-3am.  After the parties, we decided to go dancing.  Wedges are the best invention EVER.  A 7-hour night and no sore feet is absolutely unheard of.

I’ve had to skip soccer yesterday and will again today to bang out the rest of this visa application.  There isn’t much left to do at all, so I anticipate a quiet evening.  Hopefully Matt and I can just power through and have some down time to de-stress once it’s over.  I have to work all weekend, so I won’t even get to celebrate.  At least I had some fun where I could before now!

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

Leave a Reply

