Penguin’s Intrigue

I love books.  I’ve always loved and been fascinated by them.  Never have I really favored one publishing company over another.  Plenty of them produce beautiful volumes that cause me to sigh and breathe deeply every time I dance along through a bookshop.

But lately I’ve realized I go for Penguins more than any when I just need something reliable.  I go on a limb for pretty pages, enticing me with their colors and titles.  But when I need a classic (my favorite kind of book), I go straight for Penguin.  Like a good friend, Penguin’s always there for me.  No matter how long we spend apart, it’s like no time has passed when we’re together again.

At the library yesterday (no, I certainly had no reason to check out 4 books when I already have stacks of unread novels at home), I discovered a Chekhov book of short stories that is part of a 20-book series called “Great Loves.”  It’s a secret plot by Penguin to tempt me into buying the entire series.  Plus the covers are mesmerizing, even hauntingly beautiful.  Alas, I simply MUST have them all.

Luckily for me, I’m in no position to buy 20 books at this point, even when they each cost less than 4 pounds brand new.  For now I must settle for A Russian Affair and pray that one day I’ll collect them all.  Maybe next Valentine’s day they’ll be doing a special.  Or better yet, here’s an inexpensive 20 gift ideas for Christmas 2011.

If you’re feeling intrigued yourself, hurry up and buy the series post-haste, before the sale on Penguin’s UK website ends: http://www.penguin.co.uk/static/cs/uk/0/pubsetpages/greatloves/index.html.

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

2 thoughts on “Penguin’s Intrigue”

  1. Yeah I’ve been having a love affair with Russians since about the 12th grade. Anna Karenina is amazingness personified. I’m thinking I’ll definitely like Chekhov :)

Leave a Reply

