To ink, or not to ink

I realize it’s shocking to see 2 posts in a day from yours truly, but I cannot contain my joy after what happened tonight at work.  I simply must share it with the faceless steadfast friend to all known as the internet.

I may or may not have previously mentioned that my place of employment hosts dozens of regular customers each week.  We also get a score of “celebrities” in on a regular basis.  Due to this loyalty of many important customers, we have what’s known as the VIP system.  These guests get 10% off their bill every time they come in, and in theory we are meant to provide them superior service, though I try my best to do that with everyone.

Over the 3 or 4 months I’ve been working at the Subi, I have served VIP and regular customers constantly, and I have become quite friendly with many of them.  I actually really enjoy it!  It’s nice to walk up to a table and say “how are you today?” with the enthusiasm that’s appropriate when encountering a friend or familiar face.

In the evenings, we often host these two people whom I assume are a couple.  They are probably in their 40s or 50s and they own a shop called “Unique Tattoos” around the corner.  They are two of the nicest people I’ve ever met, and whenever they are in the restaurant, I make a point to visit them and catch up.  Tonight they were hidden away in the corner, and I almost missed them.  They were halfway through their mains by the time I went over to say hello.

About ten minutes after I’d left their table, one of the new servers came up and handed me a thin piece of cardboard paper.  I turned it over to find it was a gift voucher to Unique Tattoos!  Mike and Jenni had bestowed a $50 certificate upon me.  I was absolutely bursting with humility and happiness.  It is the sweetest thing, I just couldn’t believe it.  I was heartbroken when I missed them on their way out and have every intention of calling them first thing tomorrow to thank them profusely.

My only dilemma now is that I have never had any strong inclination to get a tattoo.  Mom and Dad have always made it perfectly clear that they are unacceptable, and I’ve never really given it much thought.  In Australia I’ve found that tattoos are much more common.  People with tattoos definitely don’t fall into particular categories over in this part of the world.  I have plenty of friends who want them, so perhaps I’ll just pass this on secondhand.  But I’ll never forget how this gesture has made me feel.

Mom can vouch for the fact that it’s very hard for me to be fake.  When I’m getting along with a guest, I’m being genuine.  I had a few tables today who were blown away by my level of service (they told me so, I’m not just assuming).  I truly want people to have a good experience when they sit in my section.  It’s been tough on me spending so much time at work and seeing my friends and Matt so much less, but today’s 10-hour shift was just wonderful, and this act of pure human kindness has just gotten me welled up over the glorious state of my world.

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

Leave a Reply

