More Commitments on the Table

From ages 8-20, swimming was a huge focus in my life.  My coaches were always making us give up other activities so we could devote all of our free time to training.  (My fellow swimmer friends understand what I’m talking about…)  I remember my coaches pressuring me to give up almost everything else I was involved in: acting, ski team, track, soccer etc.

Now that I have all of these athletic opportunities available to me, it’s like I’m trying to make up for all of the years when I felt as though swimming was ruling my life.  This week I’ve participated in training session for 2 different football clubs.  I’m enjoying indoor soccer with my friends, but I’m really excited at the prospect of having a proper outdoor soccer team with coaches and everything.  Matt was kind enough to offer to pay the season fees for me as a birthday present!

Last night I went to the first practice for the Floreat Athena FC.  It’s the closest club to where we live.  The coaches said they could tell I had experience and everyone seemed to think I’d fit in really well with the team.  Preseason goes from now until mid-April.  Games will run for 90 minutes, every Sunday.  Hopefully I’ll be in killer shape within the next few months.

In other news, my indoor soccer and basketball seasons are about to end.  The bball girls and I all went out clubbing over the weekend to celebrate the end of this season and the start of another.  It was actually a lot of fun.  We had dinner beforehand, which was lovely.

Matt and I met some friends to watch the Super Bowl on Monday morning.  The bar was completely filled with Steelers fans.  I didn’t really understand it, but I did meet some other American girls during the post game celebrations and high-fives.  I love bonding over football.  It felt great that the few of us Packer fans could really jump and scream and cheer together.  It was such an amazing day!

Other than that, work’s still been really crazy.  It feels good to be working out so much; it really ups my energy.  It’s hard to get through the days of all work and no play.  I am so tired all the time!  We’ve got a lot of fun stuff coming up soon, so I’ll keep everyone posted on the general goings on.

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

1 thought on “More Commitments on the Table”

Leave a Reply

