Socializing: Mos, Dawson and Australia Day

While work has kept me busier than I’ve been in ages, my social life has only gotten more hectic as I consistently have 30-hour weeks.  I shouldn’t say hectic, perhaps I’ll just call it a very full social calendar.

Here’s a photo of me with Claire and Mel, a few works friends.  I’ve quickly gotten close with some of my coworkers.  Claire’s English and has actually had to quit recently until her new visa comes through.  They’re really great girls, it was nice seeing a bunch of work people in a social atmosphere.  We went out to dinner at our place of employment, which I hadn’t done yet. The food’s amazing, so when Mel invited us I quickly leaped at the chance.  After dinner we went into the city for drinks.

Last Wednesday was my first Australia Day, which is basically the 4th of July equivalent over here.  We went to a bbq at our friend Hannah’s.  I made my signature salad and a big bowl of guacamole.  They were both a hit.  People scraped every last drop out of the guac bowl.  I will definitely need to make it again the next time the occasion calls for it.  We had a really great time.

I had a couple of Dawson’s Creek marathons with some of the girls from my soccer team last week.  Maria was kind enough to host us twice.  We were appalled to learn Hannah, Lauren and Lizzie had never seen the show, so it was imperative that we rectify the situation immediately.  There was much ooing and ahhing and awwwwws.

This past weekend we had Tahlia’s 20th birthday party.  She’s also on my soccer team and is probably Matt’s closest female friend.  Her boyfriend’s name is also Mat (they’re called Mat one and Mattwo due to the number of Ts in their names), and we’ve gotten really close with him as well over the past several months.  Above is a photo of Annabeth (a friend of Tahlia’s whom I love), Teri, Hannah and me.  Teri is another girl from the soccer team and one of my favorite people.The theme of Tahlia’s party was “Dirty Moustache,” so we all went a bit over the top.  This photo is of my friend Lizzie and me.  Aussies call November “Mo”vember and all the men grow out their facial hair to raise money for men’s health.  Now rather than calling facial hair “beards” or “moustaches,” people often just say “mo.” (As in, “nice mo!” or “I love your mo!”)

Matt says a moustache suits me.  I think he was joking, but one can never really be sure.  We found these really thick ones at a fabric store.  Only 2$!

This week I’ve still got a lot of social stuff on.  This morning I’m seeing “Tangled” with Lauren and Hannah.  Then tonight we’re going to a big social soccer event to brush up our skills.  We really want to get into training before next season starts (on my birthday!)  One of the girls from work is even joining the team!

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

Leave a Reply

