Squeezing In Some Fun

Matt has been pestering me all day about updating my blog.  “It’s been more than 7 days!” he warns.  I love that about him; he keeps me honest!

So as promised, here’s my weekly update.  Not much new to report unfortunately.  Last week my soccer team had its biggest win of the season. 6-1! I had a great goal off a free kick.  I wasn’t even that close to the goal, but it soared up and through the keeper’s hands. It was quite a thrilling moment in an already nearly flawless game.  I’m really proud of how much better we’re playing as a team.  Now we just need to get some consistency in personnel and we’ll be all set.  It’s been difficult rounding up enough players every week between work and holiday schedules.  I’ll admit organizing can be so stressful that I almost forget to enjoy it sometimes.

Matt and I try to fit in fun activities both on my days off and the days when I do work.  This week we made it to the beach, which I’ve been dying to do.  We have beach plans again next week for Australia Day.  Should be fun!  I made a practice batch of guacamole last night since I will be making that and my signature salad for the event.  (My family knows of this salad, I suspect.)

A few weeks ago we went mini-golfing at a really great outdoor botanical garden.  Yesterday we went to the art gallery.  We obsess over football and get up early for all the games.  Hopefully tomorrow night we’ll plan something fun since I only work until 5.  Basically we’re doing all we can to have an enjoyable summer.

Next week I asked for three days off.  We have commitments for Australia Day (Wednesday), a birthday party (a dirty mustache party actually) and I have a Dawson’s Creek marathon planned with some girlfriends.  I’m excited to kick back a bit.  This week I have six shifts including a 10-hour day today.  Next week should prove to be more fruitful in the way of interesting stories and photos to share.  Until then, enjoy the cold for me!

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

Leave a Reply

