Kiss Me at Midnight

Well it’s January 2nd and the holidays are officially coming to a close.  While most of you, my faithful readers, were buried under feet of snow, Matt and I were boiling in the heat!For Christmas we got up and exchanged presents before going to Nonna’s house for lunch.  (Nonna is Matt’s Italian grandmother.)  I believe there were 25 of us packed in with only a few fans to cool us down.  Though we were a bit drowsy from the 103-degree heat, it was quite a pleasant afternoon.

One of my favorite presents from Matt was a “canned platypus.”  I’m always begging him to take me somewhere where I can hold a platypus, as I find them fascinating.  But he says it’s as though I’m asking to hold a fish; also they’re apparently poisonous.  So now I have a tiny stuffed platypus I can hold whenever I want!

I had to work until 8pm on New Years Eve, but after that Matt and I headed to Tahlia’s for a house party.  We ended up really having a lot of fun; it was great spending the night with friends.We weren’t able to stay very late because Matt’s aunt got married the next morning.  It was pretty killer getting up at 9 to get ready to drive 1/2 hour out to Cottesloe for the ceremony/reception.

The view from the reception room was really amazing.  We even saw some dolphins swimming by fairly close to shore.  Unfortunately all of my photos are a little dark since I wanted to avoid the flash in the middle of the proceedings.

I hope everyone’s holidays were as enjoyable as mine!  I’m looking forward to an exciting 2011.

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

1 thought on “Kiss Me at Midnight”

  1. Happy New Year! We hope you have a wonderful 2011. We are very envious of the heat right now. The temps hve already started to plummet and we are gearing up for the miserable months of Jan & Feb.

    All our best in the New Year.
    Mike, Marcy, Andy & Molly

Leave a Reply

