Oh the things you’ve missed

I actually had a request for blog posts (thanks Kathryn!) so here I am trying to get back on track. I promise that one thing in a long list of new year’s resolutions is to be better at staying in contact with those at home and in Europe. So expect shorter, more frequent posts in 2011 and give me a good kick if I don’t deliver!

I’ll attempt to summarize some exciting events in as succinct a manner as possible, seeing as I’ve been post-less for 18 days.  I suppose there are 3 main pieces of news…

About a month ago now, I started a new job!  My previous boss decided out of the blue to start treating me unfairly, and it only took a few weeks before I just couldn’t take it anymore.  I’ve never had a problem with an employer or a job before, so it was a hard thing for me to go through.  But I’m on the better end of things now, with higher pay and much better managers at a beautiful restaurant in Subiaco (nearby suburb). If anyone is curious, here’s its website: The Subiaco Hotel

My new coworkers are amazing (though I quite liked my old ones as well).  Many are travelers as well; there are people from Denmark, Brazil, the UK, NZ, Germany…it’s really a diverse bunch of individuals.  It took about 3 shifts before I felt accustomed to the place and by that time I was already training the new people!  I get a lot of trust and respect from my managers, which I really appreciate.  Plus we get a free drink at the end of every shift; I find it really encourages people to hang around after work and spend time together unwinding after a long day.  I feel like part of the “in-crowd” already!

The other two essential pieces of news are huge achievements for my friends and me.  Both my soccer and basketball teams had their first season wins the other week!  It was a really amazing feeling, and I’m really proud of everyone.  For my basketball team it’s likely this could be our only win, but I think the soccer team will get through the season with a few more for sure.  Both of my teams plan to stick together for the next season, which I’m really excited about.

So now my soccer team is ranked 7th of 9 teams and we have been for several weeks. Unfortunately our win didn’t bump us up.  We did, however, beat the number 3 team at the time, so that was pretty great!

The basketball win was also significant because we defeated our rivals, Broken Rice (the other all-Asian team in the league).  My team is called The Bus Drivers, so Matt drew this lovely image for us to celebrate our victory.

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

1 thought on “Oh the things you’ve missed”

Leave a Reply

