Either Side of the World

Matt and I did something really special over the past weekend; we saw Crowded House in concert.  In case people haven’t heard of them (I hadn’t when we started dating) they are a major Aussie/Kiwi band from the 80s/90s who’ve just gotten back together in the last few years.  They are also Matt’s all-time favorite band.We drove down to Sandalford Vineyard early and had our own little picnic.  It was really pleasant just munching on cheese and crackers and drinking lovely Australian wine.  We waited until about the last possible minute to pack everything up and move into the “dancing area” in front of the stage.Once the show started it was pretty clear how much this band means to this country.  People were singing along emphatically with every tune.  It seemed just about everybody was getting emotional.  This concert was especially emotional for me; I experienced an amazing piece of Australian culture and history.

Unfortunately the drunk people in front of us seemed determined to ruin everything.  They were talking and chugging wine and just generally spoiling it for those around them.  Matt said something to one of them, and seconds later, the sloppiest one of the lot stumbled over spilling half a bottle of red all over Matt’s clothing and our stuff.  I was livid for about two songs, but Matt’s determined enthusiasm pulled me out of it.  Plus those people in front of us eventually left, as one of them was passed out standing up.

Seeing Neil Finn live was probably the highlight for me.  He’s head of the band and a very prominent Kiwi musician.  According to Matt his career has never let up and he’s never had a “bad” album.  Neil’s done plenty of solo stuff as well, which is apparently just as awesome as anything by Crowded House.

When Matt and I first met we exchanged a lot of books and music, but the first song he ever sent me was one by Crowded House.  I waited for that song the whole concert, and hearing it live almost brought me to tears.  It was like an affirmation of everything Matt and I have been through over nearly two years.  It really felt like we’d come full circle.  I squeezed his shoulder tight when I heard that opening melody and I sang along like it was the last thing I’d ever sing.

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

Leave a Reply

