Slaps, Smacks and Shut-outs

When I woke up this morning, for the first time, I felt like I was really in Australia.  In 4 days it’ll be my 4-month anniversary with this country, but today the reality of it all hit me hard, particularly in the nose.  In the past when I’ve been to Hawaii, Florida or even Mexico, I’ve woken up to the smell of the ocean.  It’s hard to describe unless you’ve experienced it, but being on vacation has a particular smell.  This morning, sand and sea air wafted under my nose as I reluctantly awoke to go to work.

Like many weeks I have spent in Australia, this one was a bit out of the ordinary.  Most notably, I received my very first black eye.  This happened Monday night at my basketball game.  We played the best team in our league, and spirits were a bit low at the beginning of the game.  We were shut-out 0-54, our worst defeat yet.  Before the game I had tried to get the girls to focus on goals like scoring the most points ever or getting everyone on the team to make a basket.  I think in the future we’ll readjust our focus to make it more fun.  Thankfully the opponents were really nice.

During the game my teammate and I were going for the ball at the same time, but she ended up getting my eye instead.  Everyone pretty much freaked out and after the game they all urged me to go to the emergency room just to be sure it was nothing.  Once my vision cleared an hour or so later, it seemed silly to waste time at the hospital.  Though Matt and I did debate it all evening.

It’s a little difficult to see in the photo, but that line under my right eye…that’s it.  It hurts still, but it’s not too bad to look at.  Though a couple of my regular customers at the café were asking about it today.  People will also be surprised to notice me eating sushi in this photo.  I suppose my college friends know best that this is highly unusual.  I always used to pass on trips to the sushi place back in Lexington.  I’ve recently discovered that I’ll eat it as long as there’s chicken or veggies in it.  Huh, weird.

Other than that lately I’ve been really busy with sports, work and socializing.  This weekend I went briefly to watch the gay pride parade with my friends Mat and Tahlia.  After that it was clubbing in the city with Hannah, Teri and Sarah (one of Teri’s friends).  Hannah, Teri and Tahlia all work with me at the café and they are all on my soccer team, Domesaurs.

Tonight is my soccer team’s 2nd game.  I’m pretty excited, but also really nervous.  I’ll post an update over the weekend with our results.  This last photo I’m adding is of my and Matt.  We went and saw The Social Network with Danny and Thuy for our second double date.  Thuy’s nearly done with her thesis and then she and the rest of my basketball team will be around more to hang out.  It’s almost summer here and it’s getting hot already!

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

Leave a Reply

