Moons and Junes and Ferris Wheels

This is a tough post for me. I’ve basically been on hiatus while Matt and I didn’t have internet, and now that we’ve got it back, it’s hard to get motivated to share everything!  Plus I’ve been busier than ever this last few weeks.  Here’s the abridged version of what’s new with me…

About a month ago the Royal Show was in town.  It’s basically a traveling state fair.  It allowed me to catch up on what I missed back home in Minnesota at the end of August.  We ate donuts, rode rides and played a few carnival games; we pet some animals and for once I didn’t need to worry about allergens sticking to my clothes and infecting Rachel.  The main difference between the Minnesota state fair and the Royal Show were “showbags.” Showbags are sort of like party favors or grab bags.  They come in all different themes, but most are filled with candy.  I bought a Cherry Ripe showbag for Matt and a Freddo Frog bag for myself.  Cherry Ripe and Freddo Frog are small candy bars made by Cadbury.  We were only there for a few hours, but I definitely got my fair fill.

Now that it’s getting warmer around here, it’s finally beach weather!  Matt and I have been to the beach twice already.  They have several beautiful beaches right outside of Perth, so we visited a couple of different ones.  It’s really felt good to be back in the ocean. It’s really been a longtime for me.  Sadly it can get pretty windy here, so we haven’t been in over a week.  But I’m sure when summer rolls around we’ll be there heaps.

My main focus lately seems to be sports.  As I’ve already mentioned, my basketball team plays games Monday nights and trains on Sundays.  We’re in our 7th week already!  We had our worst defeat yet on Monday, 5-50! But we’re improving loads and having a lot of fun out there.

My soccer team has also been training in preparation for our season, which started tonight.  We’ve been doing Tuesday practices and tonight we lost our first game 2-3.  Had it not been for two handballs right in front of goal, I think we could have easily won this one.  I’m pretty confident for the rest of the season.  Even without some of our strong players we showed great promise tonight.  I fear I’ll be spending a lot of time in goals this season.  Tonight I spent probably 1/3 of the game between the posts, and I didn’t let anything in! I was pretty proud; I made a couple of good saves.

So in addition to all of this sporty-ness, I’ve also taken on Bikram yoga every other day or so.  Bikram is a special kind of yoga done in 104 degree heat.  I’m really enjoying it despite the excessive sweat and slight dizziness in class.  I’ve heard it’s easy to get addicted.  Even though the classes are 90 minutes long, I find myself rearranging my schedule so I can fit it in.  They warned me this would happen! Other than that Matt and I have been pretty social.  I really feel like I have a lot of friends here.  This weekend’s gay pride here in Perth, so between that and Halloween we’ll be dressed up all weekend.  I scored the entire weekend off including Friday so I plan on doing as many fun things as possible.  I’m especially hoping to fit in plenty of yoga and some shooting practice for bball.

I apologize for the long post.  I’ll try to write more often from now on to avoid these rushed mini-novels! I also promise to start taking more photos, especially now that I stole Libby’s adapter and I can charge my camera!! Evil laugh…muahaha.

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

1 thought on “Moons and Junes and Ferris Wheels”

Leave a Reply

