Two Major Firsts

I apologize that I haven’t posted in a while.  I really need to upload some photos before I feel ready for new posts.  However, I do have two small pieces of news, which I feel are most appropriate to announce before my game tonight.

Last week my basketball team spent about 10 minutes leading!  Anyone arriving late would have sworn the scoreboard was wrong.  At no point in our first two games were we anywhere close to winning.  Despite our eventual 12-25 loss, we are definitely more confident for future games.

The other exciting first was a personal one.  I scored my first basket EVER in a real game.  I was standing on the three-point line, and when I saw and heard that beautiful swish I literally screamed.  In fact I hurled my upper body downward, slapping my cheeks as I shrieked.  It was quite a glorious moment.  We were all outraged when the ref concluded part of my foot had been over the line and it only counted for 2.

I promise to take a photo of the team tonight and edit it into the post soon.  Hopefully I’ll score more points tonight.  We learned defense in yesterday’s training session.  I absolutely cannot wait to play tonight.  It’s really the highlight of my week!

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

Leave a Reply

