New job, new digs

Unfortunately I don’t have much time, but it’s been something like 10 days since my last post, so here’s the reader’s digest version of what’s been going on…

Our friends, Wes and Libby left us their apartment for 6 weeks while they bike around Spain.  We don’t have wireless at their house, so I don’t get a chance to check the internet very often.  Luckily Matt’s iphone is there for a daily email/facebook check.  We’re really loving their place.  It’s down the street from work and pretty close to everything.  It’s great not having to use the car much.

I worked 10 straight days after starting at Dome. It was pretty wonderful having this weekend off after all of that.  I’m enjoying the work and the people, so that’s positive news.  Finally having an income doesn’t hurt either.  I’m getting pretty good at making coffee and I feel like I’ve adjusted quickly.  It helps that I already knew many of the employees before I started.

This Saturday our friend, Alex, had his 24th birthday party.  He decided to have everyone bring fruit and veg to make zoo animals.I made three different ones: a duck named Billy, a starfish named Matt and an Octopus named Curtis.  I was quite proud of my little creatures.Other than that, the only other news to report has to do with the start of spring basketball season.  Danny (Matt’s friend)’s girlfriend, Thuy, invited me to join a basketball team she was forming with some friends.  I was very reluctant, but she took my “maybe” as a “yes!”  We had a practice last night and our first game’s tonight.  One of the girl’s boyfriends came to coach us.  I think we improved a lot in a short amount of time, but I’ve never played before, so I’m still pretty nervous.  Also at 5’5″ I’m the tallest on the team. Yikes!

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

2 thoughts on “New job, new digs”

Leave a Reply

