Under the Sea

Things suddenly got really busy in our lives, and I have not had the chance to post about recent adventures until now.  Two days ago I started working at Dôme (café).  Matt is a manager/supervisor there and the owner called last week to tell us I was hired.  I’ve worked 16 hours in two days and I’ll be there another 8 1/2 today.  But I’ll elaborate in another post…

Last Friday Matt had the day off, so we decided to drive out to Hillary’s near the ocean.  Hillary’s is a sort of boardwalk area with shops and restaurants and a small adventure park with water slides and mini golf.  It was beautifully sunny, so we sat outside and had a nice lunch.  It would have been a bit more pleasant had 15-20 seagulls not been hovering around waiting to strike.

After lunch we walked over to Aqwa, the aquarium of WA.  I was limping from a badly pulled muscle, so the minimal walking was very slow going.  The day before we’d done an intense stair climb called Jacob’s Ladder at King’s Park.  It’s a sort of winding staircase and is very popular for working out.  There were at least 20 other people there when we went.  We’d done the climb up and down 3 times.  I stretched before and after, but I guess my legs just weren’t prepared.

Aqwa let us in for the student price, which saved us about $16.  It seems that expensive aquariums are universal.  I enjoyed the whole tour.  I saw a lot of marine animals native to Australian waters.  We saw tiny crocs and sea horses and jellies.  There were some stairs, and Matt had to help me up and down them a bit with my leg (it seriously hurt).  The best part was a moving conveyor belt tour underneath and around a big tank.  As we stood there, it guided us around while sharks, turtles and stingrays swam overhead.  It was a pretty cool experience.

Outside they had a touch pool, so we got to pick up starfish and pet rays.  They were different from the ones at the Mall of America’s Underwater World. Rougher, not as squishy.  I love petting rays, I’m weird like that.  My only regret is that in the two animal places we’ve been, I still haven’t seen a platypus.  I want to hold one which Matt says is just crazy.

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

Leave a Reply

