Spotted: Darren Hanlon and Little Creatures

Last Saturday Matt and I had an all-day date in Fremantle, a suburb about 1/2 hour away by car.  Freo’s right near the ocean, so we had a pleasant and breezy afternoon.  We stopped in a few used bookshops (which are my favorite) and saw some of the local tourist attractions.

One place we saw was an old prison called the Roundhouse.  It was meant to have held quite a few prisoners despite its limited space.  It reminded me a bit of the Château d’If, an isolated castle-like prison off the coast of Marseille.

After touring the town a bit, we walked over to a brewery near the pier called Little Creatures.  It’s a huge and very popular place that brews a variety of local beers.  It was already getting pretty crowded when we arrived around 5:30pm.  We had a Darren Hanlon concert at 8, so there was plenty of time to hang out and enjoy a few beers. On the way, Matt insisted I take several extremely touristy photos in front of giant anchors.As we looked for a place to sit down, Matt realized he’d forgotten the ticket print-outs at home.  While he was perfectly compliant with the possibility we’d have to drive back and get them, I refused to be derailed.  Instead I dragged him a few blocks to the nearest hotel.  Upon entry, I marched up to the front desk and in my sweetest commanding voice, I asked whether we might be able to use their business center.  The woman charged us $5 for an internet/printing card, which seemed more than fair under the circumstances.  She offered to charge it to our room, but we coolly said we’d just prefer to pay cash.

So with new tickets in hand, we rushed happily back to the pier.  Little Creatures was busy busy, so we were ushered to the “loft” area, which was basically just upstairs seating bordering the open area below.  We had a couple of pints and a really great dinner. We got into a long conversation about music of the 90s and our favorite songs to sing on karaoke nights.

After dinner it was back to the car to drop our bags before the concert.  On the way to the venue, I confidently waltzed into the nearby hospital to use the bathroom, and Matt declared I was very “ballsy” that night.  I felt pretty pleased with myself to be honest.  Though once we got to the concert we realized I’d left my ID in my purse, so I lost a few points as we ran back to the car in the pouring rain.

At the concert we got a great spot near the front, but as we were soaking wet, it was pretty uncomfortable during the opening acts.  Darren gave a really great show despite some drunks kids trying to ruin it for everyone.  (Why is there always someone like that at EVERY show?)  When we got home I took a long hot shower.  After all the rain I feared I’d never be warm again.  All in all I’d say it was an excellent date :D

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

Leave a Reply

