Do You Tandy?

I meant to write this ages ago, but in all the excitement of my arrival, I completely forgot about it.  When I first got here, Matt took two weeks off from work to show me around and help me get settled.  Going for drives was one thing we did a lot in the beginning.  Not long drives, just quick loops to give me an idea of what Perth is like.  One night we ended up driving through the downtown area, and on Barrack Street, there it was, a TANDY LEATHER!Most people are probably going “huh?” at this point.  The route to my cabin is fairly simple, but somehow people always manage to get lost on the way.  It’s easier to give directions as a series of landmarks, but sometimes even that doesn’t work.  Only one shop seems cemented in people’s brains and that is the Tandy Leather.  When we hit the Tandy Leather, it’s just a right turn and little ways away from the cabin.  My good friend Kathryn makes me laugh every time we pass it; I can always count on her to throw out a silly yet seductive “TANDY!”

When I saw the Tandy Leather in Perth City, I smiled and felt instantly relieved.  A new place can be overwhelming at first and I took this little shop as a sign that even a long way from home, I’m never too far.

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

3 thoughts on “Do You Tandy?”

  1. Emma,

    Leo and I just spent fantastic weekend at the cabin. My birthday vacation. Tandy is landmark for our sweet home away from home….the cabin.

    Axt family lake place is the best.

    Love, M

Leave a Reply

