Friends and Photos

I haven’t posted in a while, so I thought I’d give a quick update.  Matt and I have been keeping fairly busy.  I found work in another Italian restaurant, though they don’t have a lot of hours for me so I’m still in the job hunt.  I need to make sure I can get a decent amount of combined shifts at two or even three places if I have to.

The original place that hired me then unhired me, then gave me hope, then dashed it away again is finally out of my mind.  They had to hire a family friend instead, but apparently I’m “a great kid” and everyone’s “very sad it didn’t work out.”  (I paraphrased that second part, but that’s basically what they told me.)  So I’m still figuring things out in that way, I have a few prospects, but I plan to hit the streets with more resumes tomorrow.  Keep your fingers crossed for me!

Matt and I have spent some time in Perth City which I suppose is equivalent to “downtown.”  We’ve done some shopping, and I’ve seen the sights a bit.  The photo is my favorite thing I’ve seen so far.  We were walking into the city and suddenly there they were.  The Gumnut babies.  I don’t exactly know the story behind them, but I’ll figure it out and explain it another time.  For now they’re just adorable aren’t they?  Gumnut baby sounds like something out of a Super Mario Bros. game.

This next photo is a little hidden neighborhood in Perth City.  It has a lot of cute little shops and seems quite touristy.  It’s only an alleyway, but it’s very charming.  I felt like I was back in Scotland.  Matt says people often compare it to Diagon Alley.

Perth’s downtown city limits are actually quite small.  But there is room for a quaint little park.  There is a lot of construction going on in the city at the moment, so this is a nice little escape from all the hustle and bustle.  North Perth (where we live) is very convenient because you can walk pretty much anywhere.  All the other suburbs and the city itself are very accessible.  I cannot wait to get a bike so I can just ride all over town.

I’ve made some friends since arriving here, many of them through Matt.  Yesterday his friend Danny’s girlfriend and I went out for coffee.  Her name is Thuy (“Twee”) and we got along really well.  She’s eager to set up some double dates, but Matt and I are going to a concert this weekend, so we haven’t worked anything out yet.

Other than that I’ve become close to some of the girls he works with (Libby and Tahlia are their names) and we’ve been invited a few times to hang out with another guy (Alex) and his housemates.  (I’m trying to provide these explanations now so that when I mention them in future posts it’s not completely random.)  There’s a pub around the corner from where they all work, and while poor Matt was working all afternoon, I hung out drinking beer with everyone all of Tuesday afternoon.

Libby and her boyfriend Wes are leaving soon for Spain on a 6 week biking trip.  They really want us to stay in their apartment and help them out with the rent while they’re gone.  We’re definitely considering it, making me even more motivated to find work.  We’re jealous of all the fun trips people have planned.  We’re hoping in the next year we can make it to Thailand or Bali.  Apparently Bali’s not that expensive.  Japan is the dream, but that one we probably can’t afford for a while.

That’s all the news at the moment.  I’ll be sure to take a lot of pictures this weekend.  I never bring my camera with me anywhere.  I have no way of charging it once it dies as I forgot to buy a converter.  Hopefully I can find one here!

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

Leave a Reply

