For Your Entertainment

Last Tuesday, Matt and I spent the afternoon at the Perth Zoo.  It was a warm winter day, and I didn’t even need a coat! I saw plenty of animals I’ve never seen before and I’m just uploading a few photos for all of you to see!

First are, of course, a few baboons.  They were grooming each other when we happened to pass their lair.

The meerkats above looked very cuddly.  They seemed to be soaking up as much sun as possible.

Elephants are some of my favorite animals. One bigger elephant named Tricia takes walks through the zoo once a day, so I got pretty close to her.  This one stayed caged though.

This elephant was much smaller than Tricia.  We saw her being bathed later on.  They really seem to like that.

While this wasn’t my first kangaroo sighting, I did get even closer to them this time.  They are in an area where they can basically roam free.

This is my first and only wombat.  He was quite cute, and apparently they are very fast. He certainly didn’t look it.

Taz in person looks nothing like Taz the cartoon.  Tasmanian devils are pretty quick and active, so I wasn’t really able to get a good shot of one.  At one point there was also a such thing as a Tasmanian tiger, but those went extinct some time ago.  Matt showed me a photo and they don’t look much like regular tigers.

We did actually see a few tigers up and moving around which we found unusual. Tigers seem to sleep most of the time whenever I’ve been to zoos in the past.  We couldn’t get very good shots of them either, though.  The Perth Zoo has all kinds of information on the animals and their rate of extinction.  It sounds like tigers and rhinos are really in trouble.  We donated some coins to the cause, but I walked out of there feeling frustrated with the poachers of the world.  It’s not natural for these animals to be dying out like they are.  All in all it was a great outing.  I was tempted to buy a membership to use as an excuse to come back more often.

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

Leave a Reply

