To Fatso, With Love

From time to time, I’d like to comment on relevant (and not-so-relevant) news and happenings here in Australia.  This is something I’ve been dying to share.

Yesterday Matt and I went to the Perth Zoo.  Obviously for me the most fascinating part was the Aussie animal section.  Matt says as a child he would always like to start there because for him and his friends this was generally the more boring part of a zoo visit.  I’ll elaborate on this excursion in another post, I just wanted to point out that I’ve now seen firsthand the terrifying girth and length of a real crocodile.

Crocs have been in the news here lately and we’re all quite shocked to hear why.  In a northern Western Australia town called Broome, a drunken man thought it would be funny to climb into a croc pen and ride it.  Poor Fatso (16ft long, 1,800lbs) retaliated as any sane (or sober) person would expect.  He spun around quickly and took a serious chunk out of the 36-year-old’s leg.

The most amazing part of this story is that the man in question survived!  You can read about it here: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/10611973?ls to get the details.  My personal insight into the matter is that I was trembling at the sight of one of these nasty fellows while it slept in an enclosed tank.  Attempting to sit on one makes me sick to even contemplate.

Needless to say, no one will be bothering Fatso again.  That kind of lucky break can only happen once…

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

Leave a Reply

