A Brief Encounter

Last Thursday I had an extremely close encounter of the marsupial kind.

We had lunch with Matt’s grandparents out in the suburbs.  It was a lovely sunny day and the view from where their house is perched was quite beautiful.  But toward the end of the meal I expressed that I had yet to truly feel like I was in Australia.  I mentioned casually that seeing some of the native wildlife might give me more of a sense of where I was.

Grandma Anne (the Irish one) suggested we hit a cemetery on the way home.  At first I was a little confused, but she and Nonna (the Italian one) explained that the Pinnaroo cemetery/nature area was booming with kangaroos all year round.  So the boys and I figured it was worth a shot since the place was already on our way home.

We found the place easily enough (with the help of Kieran’s navigation on Matt’s iphone).  It was a really expansive place and definitely unlike any cemetery I’d ever seen.  Very green, lots of lush vegetation.  Matt and I both reflected that we certainly wouldn’t mind being buried there ;D

After getting somewhat lost in the myriad of paths, we turned a corner and saw a lone little guy eating some grass.  He was so cute and he let me get pretty close to him.  We drove a little further and suddenly we turn a corner to find about 50 kangaroos just hanging out having a snack.

Matt, his brothers and I spread out and walked among them for maybe 10 minutes.  They ignored us for the most part, but occasionally they would look up at us and sometimes hop a little ways away.  I even spotted a few joeys hanging out of their mothers’ pouches.  All in all it was a purely Australian experience.

Author: emma a.

I'm Emma, a Minnesota girl getting back in touch with my creative side. Since graduating university in 2008 (the first time), I've been traveling and living abroad. Seven years ago I settled in Australia with my husband. I love running, reading, writing, knitting and pilates. I'm also a physiotherapy student and soon-to-be mother of a baby boy.

3 thoughts on “A Brief Encounter”

Leave a Reply

